X / More Fun In The New World
Album: More Fun In The New World   Collection:General
Artist:X   Added:Oct 2019
Label:Fat Possum Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-10-30 Pull Date: 2020-01-01
Week Ending: Jan 5 Dec 29 Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10 Nov 3
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 30, 2024: down in the basement
I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts
4. Apr 13, 2023: down in the basement
I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts
2. Aug 24, 2023: down in the basement
I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts
5. Oct 23, 2021: suzi_emanuele-Manbrck_DEMO
3. Jul 06, 2023: down in the basement
Were Having Much More Fun
6. Jan 13, 2020: Everything
I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts

Album Review
Reviewed 2019-10-23
40 minutes of straight shooting guitar rock, varying from light punk rock to classic rock ‘n’ roll. The female (Exene Cervenka)/male (John Doe) vocal combination keeps the tunes raw and natural. An impressively well-rounded album that is high energy throughout. Originally from LA, X has been largely been overlooked even during their peak years in the late 70s and early 80s. However, it’s clear their efforts provided a foundation on which later indie rock groups, like The Strokes, could thrive. A must play for any rock connoisseur DJ, especially those with a fondness for punk.

-Alan (GoldenEagle)

Top tracks: 1, 4, 7, 2

1) ** New World. This opening track moves like an 18 wheeler going down the interstate. A real thumper. Goes through the verses at a gallop and eventually soars into a dreamy chorus riff. Surprisingly is politically relevant despite being written in the 80s.

2) Having Much More Fun. A rock party anthem. A chant worthy “we’re having much more fun” precedes a couple entertaining, snarly lines.

3) True Love. A head bobber. Short and sweet. An upbeat, garage rock sound. Cervenka takes full control of vocals here.

4) * Poor Girl. A song that captures melancholic acceptance. “Take what she gives you,” Doe sings. A gem.

5) Make The Music Go Bang. A true rock storm. Heavy guitar thunders throughout the track while the vocals get swept up in the wind.

6) Breathless. Raw and skinny. Minimalistic. If punk was around in the 50s, this is what it would sound like.

7) * I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts. Guitars begin with a mystifying, swift tiptoe and then tremor toward a chant of a chorus. “I must not think bad thoughts!” Has a 60’s sound to it.

8) Devil Doll. Rich instrumentals. Loud and aggressive. Arguably the most modern sounding track so far.

9) Painting The Town Blue. Another dose of no-nonsense punk.

10) Hot House. Bring out the jukebox, it’s rock n roll. Hot guitar dominates this song.

11) Drunk In The Past. A darker, deep sound. Fantastic guitarwork at the end.

12) I See Red. A sprint of a song. The sound of rowdiness and rampage. Fans of The Libertines will enjoy this one.

13) True Love 2. The black sheep of the album. Dance-oriented and groovy. A finger-snapper.

Track Listing
1. Were Having Much More Fun   7. Devil Doll
2. True Love   8. Painting The Town Blue
3. Poor Girl   9. Hot House
4. Make The Music Go Bang   10. Theres A Drunk In My Past
5. Breathless   11. I See Red
6. I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts   12. True Love Pt#2