Sgt. Papers / Me Hiciste Brujería
Album: Me Hiciste Brujería   Collection:General
Artist:Sgt. Papers   Added:Oct 2019

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-12-24 Pull Date: 2020-02-25
Week Ending: Feb 23 Feb 16 Feb 9 Feb 2 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Jan 5
Airplays: 4 1 3 1 3 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 26, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Apr 29, 2021)
Luis Pacheco
4. Apr 29, 2021: Magnetized Toner
Luis Pacheco
2. Jun 10, 2021: Rebroadcast: Magnetized Toner
Luis Pacheco
5. Feb 27, 2020: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Muérete De Envidia
3. May 13, 2021: Rebroadcast: Magnetized Toner
Luis Pacheco
6. Feb 26, 2020: The Library
Luis Pacheco

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2019-12-24
Me Hiciste Brujería (You put a spell on me) is the second album by Hermosillo, Mexico, garage psych duo Sgt. Papers. Effervescent guitar-driven psych rock built with a punch and a killer arsenal of guitar effects. Think of early Thee Oh Sees meets the latest incarnation of Prettiest Eyes. Sicodelico y acelerado.

RIYL: Thee Oh Sees, Snakerattlers, Meelt, Prettiest Eyes and Frankie And The Witch Fingers.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 2 [FCC], 4, 5 [FCC], 6

1. (3:16) ***Muérete de Envidia – Fast tempo. Killer guitars, cool vocals, great cut. My favorite of the album.
2. (5:08) **No Fui Yo[FCC: Insults in a foreign language/Spanish – fuck, ass, damn]. Slow/fast tempo. Intense, wild, and imaginative. Channeling Ty Segall all the way.
3. (2:52) Maratón – Medium-up tempo. Think early 1970s The Rolling Stones meets the Thee Oh Sees. Rock n’ roll for you and me.
4. (5:19) ***Luis Pacheco– Slow/medium-up tempo. More killer guitars, more cooler vocals, and a garage swag only few in the world own. The song John Dwyer never wrote. My second favorite track on the album.
5. (3:26) *La Capital [FCC: Insults in a foreign language/Spanish – shit, and more shit]. Fast tempo. Dirty rock n’ roll psych rocker.
6. (5:34) **Me Hiciste Brujería– Medium/medium-up tempo. Sweet intense guitars. The Thee Oh Sees meets Frankie And The Witch Fingers.
7. (7:19) No Seas Mamón – Slow tempo. Instrumental epilogue. Guitar feedback galore. Layers more, layers less.

Track Listing
1. Muérete De Envidia   4. Luis Pacheco
2. No Fui Yo   5. La Capital
3. Maratón   6. Me Hiciste Brujería
  7. No Seas Mamón