Drab Majesty / Modern Mirror
Album: Modern Mirror   Collection:General
Artist:Drab Majesty   Added:Sep 2019
Label:Dais Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-09-09 Pull Date: 2019-11-11
Week Ending: Nov 10 Nov 3 Oct 20 Oct 13 Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 07, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Aug 5, 2021)
4. Aug 05, 2021: Magnetized Toner
2. Aug 19, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Aug 5, 2021)
5. Nov 06, 2019: The Fuzz Deli
Long Division
3. Aug 12, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Oct 15, 2019)
6. Nov 04, 2019: baggage claim
Dolls In The Dark

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2019-09-06
Since the 2015 release of Drab Majesty’s debut “Careless”, and the release of the acclaimed sophomore album “The Demonstration” the following year, artist Deb Demure and collaborator Mona D. have firmly established themselves amongst the pantheon of dark synth-pop greats, establishing a devoted fan base worldwide with their singular hypnotic sound and mysterious, constantly-evolving presence.Modern Mirror. It’s a contemporary re-telling of Ovid’s “Narcissus,” the classic Greco-Roman myth about a man so obsessed with himself, he dies staring into his own reflection while the devastated nymph who can’t shake him out of her head watches from afar.

Like: Cold Cave, Sisters of Mercy, Dais Records/LA goths

FCC: None

Play: 2, 3, 8

1.A Dialogue (4:22) Wash of feedback, no synth-bass, no drum machine. It's just Demure falling into an abyss.
2.The Other Side (6:04) A wonderful mix of bouncy and despondent, runs into the issue of chorus repetition.
3.Ellipsis (5:06) Cookie-cutter lyrics and a hodgepodge of catchy trends emulating the cure.
4.Noise of the Void (5:32) Layered surrealism moves us from expansive, echoed ballad.
5.Dolls in the Dark (4:51) Hi-tempo goth-revivalist song, the mixture of danceable energy and dark moodiness.
6.Oxytocin (3:55) An anthem on loving without abandon.
7.Long Division (5:04) Tactile synthwave landscapes.
8.Out of Sequence (7:53) builds and builds, earning each moment, until a massive instrumental outro burns off the song.

Track Listing
1. A Dialogue   5. Dolls In The Dark
2. The Other Side   6. Oxytocin
3. Ellipsis   7. Long Division
4. Noise Of The Void   8. Out Of Sequence