Tropical Fuck Storm / Braindrops
Album: Braindrops   Collection:General
Artist:Tropical Fuck Storm   Added:Aug 2019
Label:Joyful Noise  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-08-21 Pull Date: 2019-10-23
Week Ending: Oct 27 Oct 20 Sep 29 Sep 8 Sep 1 Aug 25
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 12, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Oct 15, 2019)
The Happiest Guy Around
4. Sep 25, 2019: The Library
Who's My Eugene?
2. Oct 21, 2019: Everything
Maria 63, Desert Sands Of Venus
5. Sep 22, 2019: Radiant Airwaves
Desert Sands Of Venus
3. Oct 15, 2019: Magnetized Toner
The Happiest Guy Around
6. Sep 04, 2019: The Library
Who's My Eugene?

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2019-08-20
Second album from this Australian rock/riot grrl supergroup. Mostly on lead vocals is Gareth Liddiard (also singer of The Drones, otherwise singer is specified), a ruthlessly polemical lyricist and a scary vocalist. Always near chaos, with noisy guitar scraps flying past, distorted beats, and disconcerting group vocals. As powerful as it is ugly, which is to say, very. RIYL Nick Cave/The Birthday Party, New War, mid-sixties Dylan, Iceage, Liars, Bill Hicks. Favorites: 3, 5, 8, 9. FCC WARNING: 1, 2, 4, 6, 7.

1. (6:15)—FCC (s***). Slow, defeated, quiet start with fried atonal guitar licks. Becomes a bash-out.
2. (4:53)—FCC (f***). Mid-tempo. Crunchy krautrock beat, funk bass.
3. *(4:42)—Medium-slow scrawly funk, kinda reminiscent of the Kills. Nice ending groove. Sung by Erica Dunn, with lyrics about the relationship between Brian Wilson and his psychotherapist.
4. (4:28)—FCC (f***). Seasick beat and guitar squalls, peppy backing vocals, approaching old-school hip-hop through noise.
5. *(3:57)—Slow, surprisingly pretty. Peaceful at start and end, with a noisy build.
6. (6:42)—FCC (many). Swinging mid-tempo groove, almost smooth in spots.
7. (5:15)—FCC (f***). Slow decayed beat, minimal guitars.
8. *(4:14)—Instrumental. Sounds like a very broken orchestral 78. Eerie.
9. *(7:50)—Slow, languid desert post-rock. Explosive finale. A fable about neo-fascist ideology moving from the fringes of society and toward the center.

Track Listing
1. Paradise   5. Maria 62
2. The Planet Of Straw Men   6. Braindrops
3. Who's My Eugene?   7. Aspirin
4. The Happiest Guy Around   8. Desert Sands Of Venus
  9. Maria 63