Weaver, Jane / Loops In The Secret Society
Album: Loops In The Secret Society   Collection:General
Artist:Weaver, Jane   Added:Jul 2019
Label:Fire Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-08-13 Pull Date: 2019-10-15
Week Ending: Oct 13 Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15 Sep 8 Sep 1 Aug 25
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 06, 2021: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants (rebroadcast from Oct 3, 2019)
Element (Loops Variation)
4. Oct 03, 2019: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Element (Loops Variation)
2. Oct 17, 2019: Being as an ocean
Arrows (Loops Variation)
5. Oct 02, 2019: Brownian Motion
Ravenspoint (Loops Variation)
3. Oct 10, 2019: Being as an ocean
Did You See Butterflies / Sun House / I Wish
6. Sep 28, 2019: Music Casserole
Found Birds, Arrows (Loops Variation)

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2019-07-31
Gorgeous gazey dream pop loop-filled-experimental. For fans of Teen, New Order, This Mortal Coil and experimental electronics: Lovely voiced UK female singer/songsmith who has been in bands such as Kill Laura and Misty Dixon, starting her career in 1993. London’s NME described her as “…the sound of Cat Power if she'd grown up next door to Oasis, stealing their Beatles records and outshining them at the school Christmas concert". Her storied career has seen her collaborate with a who’s who list of artists with albums on Polydor, produced by the manager of New Order (maybe his influence continues today). Most interesting about this release is its composition, heavily dosed with experimental ambient washes of synth and noise, many short tracks that lace together the longer bigger songs, some of which are radio hit quality. Probably good to play on continuous to avoid any cold endings or even play tracks together (e.g. 19-22 combine psych folk with ambient experimental). This is a beautiful release that would serve well as #1 on our charts. Play.

1)* (6:41) lovely balmy atmospheric layers of vocals and synth for 2min then a cool old school electro beat appears 2) (1:40) atmospheric swirling looping 3)* (4:24) lovely simple synth beat and stringlike synths, airy vocs, gorgeous, blends into next (play together?) 4) (1:26) atmospheric piece that’s an outtro of previous really 5) (3:44) pulsing synth, faster feel despite slow phrased vocs that are more prominent 6)* (4:20) accessible poppier feel, “hit” quality 7) (0:22) brief electronics 8) (3:32) decidedly poppy feel in vocals and tempo but no percussion 9) (4:45) getting more and hit quality pop as the album progresses, here’s a gem that fades out interestingly 10) (2:46) synth drone balm 11) (1:38) great electronics, experimental 12) (6:29) chill electro synth pop feel 13) (056) chill synth 14) (5:42) vocals in front very pretty, melodic reminds me of This Mortal Coil, The Sixths or something 15) (2:43) somber later swans tone with guitar, no singing, kind of a rough idea sketch 16) (1:55) synth tone drones with rough looped beat 17)* (4:04) heavy reverbed echoey vocals with dark plod droniness 18) (0:59) cool analog synth tones drones intro to next 19) (4:14) strummy and a goth tone 20) (0:54) cool experimental feel 21) (2:13) comes out of previous, reminds me of Pink Floyd for sure 22) (2:30) lovely synth

Track Listing
1. Element (Loops Variation)   12. Slow Motion (Loops Variation)
2. Milk Loop   13. Margins
3. Arrows (Loops Variation)   14. Cells (Loops Variation)
4. Found Birds   15. Code (Loops Variation)
5. H>a>k (Loops Variation)   16. Signs Are Rising
6. Did You See Butterflies   17. Ravenspoint (Loops Variation)
7. Sun House   18. Sous Le Même Soleil, Vie Disparu Dans Le Ciel (Loops Variation)
8. I Wish (Loops Variation)   19. Majic Milk (Loops Variation)
9. Mission Desire (Loops Variation)   20. Conduit
10. Battle Ropes   21. Ivana Vessel
11. Found Birds   22. Battle Ropes