Gartland, Tim / Satisfied
Album: Satisfied   Collection:Blues
Artist:Gartland, Tim   Added:Jun 2019

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-06-18 Pull Date: 2019-08-20 Charts: Blues
Week Ending: Aug 4 Jul 28 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 23, 2021: Hanging in the Boneyard (rebroadcast from Dec 28, 2019)
Blues For Free
4. Jul 25, 2019: ERA
Blues For Free
2. Dec 28, 2019: Hanging in the Boneyard
Blues For Free
5. Jul 23, 2019: Tree Talk
Why Does The Room Begin To Sway?
3. Aug 02, 2019: Traditions
Can't Paint A Prettier Picture, Blues For Free
6. Jul 12, 2019: Traditions
Can't Paint A Prettier Picture, Blues For Free

Album Review
Mr. Bones
Reviewed 2019-06-29
Satisfied – Tim Gartland (as told by Mr. Bones)

In his 4th release Tim Gartland combines his killer harp, clever song writing and a rock solid band to create a great southern blues sound. Satisfied offers a unique combination of straight blues ala his days in Chicago, along with a more laconic sound typical of his current Nashville base. In the latter you will find Wendy Molten's backing vocals adding lovely accents to his smooth baritone. Top it all off with clever word-smithing (gonna meet the reaper some day, but I've no plans to meet him half-way) and you've got a release that would be at home on any show featuring blues, R&B or swamp pop.

RIFY: Charlie Musselwhite, Little Walter, Matt Anderson and JJ Cale

*1 Drinking for Two - bouncy two-step with red hot harmonica and guitar (3:48)
2 Don't Make More Trouble - eery mid-tempo about improving the world (4:12)
**3 Blues For Free - sublime down-tempo with Molten's backup exquisitely complementing Garland's baritone (4:12)
*4 Can't Paint A Prettier Picture - honky tonk, toe-tapper with references to the masters (3:22)
5 You Best Think Twice - uptempo rockabilly (3:29)
*6 Satisfied - slow, beautiful ode to the simple life with lovely piano riff (3:26)
7 Walk On - mid-tempo bad-ass call and response with razor sharp harp (3:50)
*8 Why Does the Room Begin to Sway - enchanting reggae shuffle (4:17(
*9 Artifacts - down-temp full on torch song with nice backing vocals and key changes (4:11)
10 Don't Judge Me - hard driving blues with guitar, harp & organ trading licks (3:05)

Track Listing
1. Drinking For Two   6. Satisfied
2. Don't Make More Trouble   7. Walk On
3. Blues For Free   8. Why Does The Room Begin To Sway?
4. Can't Paint A Prettier Picture   9. Artifacts
5. You Best Think Twice   10. Don't Judge Me