Cleveland, Shana / Night Of The Worm Moon
Album: Night Of The Worm Moon   Collection:General
Artist:Cleveland, Shana   Added:Jun 2019
Label:Hardly Art  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-06-18 Pull Date: 2019-08-20
Week Ending: Aug 25 Aug 18 Jul 28 Jul 21 Jul 14 Jun 23
Airplays: 1 5 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 21, 2019: The Library
Face Of The Sun
4. Aug 17, 2019: Hanging in the bone yard
Don't Let Me Sleep
2. Aug 20, 2019: tree talk
Castle Milk
5. Aug 17, 2019: Music Casserole
Invisible When The Sun Leaves
3. Aug 17, 2019: Post-Loon Talk
Face Of The Sun
6. Aug 16, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Don't Let Me Sleep

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2019-06-19
Night of the Worm Moon is the second solo album by La Luz singer, songwriter, and guitarist Shana Cleveland. The serene recordings are driven by the grasping of an acoustic guitar, Shana's lovely voice, and sporadically slow tempo. The band of regular contributors never overshadows the calmness of the record despite delivering everything from complex bass lines to dramatic, distorted guitar riffs. A more ambitious and consistent recording that continues Shana's future folk dreams first encountered in her 2015 debut solo album, Oh Man, Cover The Ground. One of my favorite albums of 2019.

Something else from the press release:
As much a work of California sci-fi as Octavia Butler’s Parable novels, Night of the Worm Moon incorporates everything from alternate realities to divine celestial bodies. Inspired in part by one of her musical idols, the Afro-futurist visionary Sun Ra (the album’s title is a tip of the hat to his 1970 release Night of the Purple Moon), the record blends pastoral folk with cosmic concerns.

Cleveland dreamt up this premise while living in Los Angeles, a city where--as deftly explored on La Luz’s recent Floating Features--reality and fantasy casually co-exist. One particularly evocative scene laid the groundwork for Night of the Worm Moon’s psychedelic undercurrents. As Cleveland tells it, “Shortly after I moved to Los Angeles I went to a hip hotel to watch a poolside screening of a documentary about a local alien-worshiping cult. Out front celebrities were getting out of the backs of cars and rushing past autograph hounds into some roped-off room where a secret dinner was about to commence. In the lobby a woman was being paid to exist inside a glass box. [Then] a car dressed as a spaceship pulled up in front to release 30 white doves into the sky above Sunset Boulevard.”
RIYL: Cate Le Bon, Will Sprott, Cat Power, Aldous Harding and Beck’s Sea Change.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10

1. (3:20) **Don't Let Me Sleep – Slow tempo. Guitars and vocals. Some synths and chorus. Beautiful melody.
2. (3:29) ***Face of the Sun – Slow tempo. This is how I imagined a La Luz ballad would sound. Stunning track.
3. (3:12) **In Another Realm – Slow tempo. Quiet, minimal. Exquisite piece.
4. (1:41) *Castle Milk – Slow tempo. Instrumental track. Photographic.
5. (2:59) ***Night of the Worm Moon – Slow tempo. Sweet and tender. Lovely vocals.
6. (2:58) *Invisible When the Sun Leaves – Slow tempo. Guitar, vocals and other distant sounds. It makes me think of Nick Drake’s dramatism.
7. (3:39) The Fireball – Slow tempo. Another very interesting future folk ballad here.
8. (2:17)*Solar Creep – Slow tempo. Guitar, vocals and other distant sounds part II.
9. (4:20)**A New Song – Slow tempo. Guitar, synths and vocals. Delicate piece.
10. (3:18) **I'll Never Know – Slow tempo. Guitar, vocals and other distant sounds part III.

Track Listing
1. Don't Let Me Sleep   6. Invisible When The Sun Leaves
2. Face Of The Sun   7. The Fireball
3. In Another Realm   8. Solar Creep
4. Castle Milk   9. A New Song
5. Night Of The Worm Moon   10. I'll Never Know