Stryker, Dave / Eight Track I I I
Album: Eight Track I I I   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Stryker, Dave   Added:May 2019

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-05-10 Pull Date: 2019-07-12 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 16 Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26 May 19
Airplays: 3 1 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 18, 2019: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Too High
4. Jul 09, 2019: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Move On Up
2. Jul 11, 2019: ERA
Too High
5. Jul 05, 2019: Clean Copper Radio
Move On Up
3. Jul 09, 2019: tree talk
Joy Inside My Tears
6. Jul 02, 2019: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
After The Dance, Everybody Loves The Sunshine

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2019-05-07
Reviewed: 2018-05-07
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none
Review: Guitarist Stryker completes his Eight Track odyssey with the delivery of the third volume of jazz takes on '70s radio staples. The same sense of enthusiasm still shines through in the music. The strength of the song itself remains paramount. Stryker doesn't bend the originals into unrecognizable shapes. He plays the songs in relatively straightforward manners, leaves space for solos, and lets the magic take shape on its own.
If You Like:
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
*1/ Move On Up (6:11) – drums start> swinging uptempo jam> guitar solo> vibes solo> organ solo> uptempo jam soars> crescendo & fade
2/ Papa Was a Rolling Stone (7:29) – drums start> midtempo funky jam> guitar solo> vibes solo> or subsides> midtempo jam swings up in volume to crescendo end
*3/ Pretzel Logic (5:39) – drums/piano start> midtempo jam> organ solo> vibes solo> guitar solo soars> uptempo jam> crescendo end
**4/ Too High (5:16) – organ/vibes start midtempo, quickly swing uptempo> guitar solo> vibes solo> organ solo> drum solo> uptempo jam> crescendo end
5/ We’ve Only Just Begun (5:07) – guitar starts slow & quiet> slow jam> organ solo> vibes solo> slow jam> muted crescendo end
6/ This Guy’s In Love With You (6:21) – organ starts> uptempo jam> organ solo> guitar solo> vibes solo> uptempo jam> fade
*7/ Everybody Loves The Sunshine (6:24) – drums start> midtempo jam> vibes solo swings into uptempo jam> guitar solo downshifts to midtempo> midtempo jam> quick fade
8/ After The Dance (5:38) – organ/vibes start> midtempo jam> vibes solo> guitar solo> organ solo builds to uptempo> midtempo jam> crescendo end
*9/ Joy Inside My Tears (4:26) – organ starts> slow jam> vibes solo> guitar solo> slow jam> slow fade

Track Listing
1. Move On Up   5. We've Only Just Begun
2. Papa Was A Rolling Stone   6. This Guy's In Love With You
3. Pretzel Logic   7. Everybody Loves The Sunshine
4. Too High   8. After The Dance
  9. Joy Inside My Tears