Mckenzie, Sarah / Secrets Of My Heart
Album: Secrets Of My Heart   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Mckenzie, Sarah   Added:Apr 2019
Label:Normandy Lane Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-04-30 Pull Date: 2019-07-02 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26 May 19 May 12
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 21, 2023: Music Casserole
De Nada
4. Jul 05, 2019: Butter and Jams
It's All About Love
2. Aug 24, 2021: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics (rebroadcast from Apr 30, 2019)
The Gershwin Medley, It's All About Love, De Nada, The Gershwin Medley
5. Jul 04, 2019: ERA
Secrets Of My Heart
3. Jul 05, 2019: Clean Copper Radio
The Gershwin Medley
6. Jun 29, 2019: Music Casserole
Till The End Of Time

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2019-04-16
Reviewed: 2018-04-16
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none
Review: Australia singer & pianist McKenzie is an emerging star with a timeless voice and a spellbinding way with original lyrics. With its mix of 20th-century jazz standards and sterling original compositions, this album is McKenzie’s most personal musical statement to date, projecting an alluring sense of confidence, a worldly outlook, and a clear-eyed dedication to her artistic vision.
If You Like: Diana Krall, Annie Ross, Norah Jones
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
*1/ You Only Live Twice (4:59) – piano starts> slow sedate song> piano solo> midtempo song> slow fade
**2/ You And The Music (6:09) – guitar starts> slow song> pause> piano swings into uptempo song> piano solo> guitar solo> bass solo> midtempo jam> bass solo> uptempo song> piano solo to fade
**3/ De Nada (3:16) – piano starts> uptempo bossa nova song> piano solo> uptempo song> quick stop
4/ Secrets Of My Heart (4:17) – piano starts> uptempo song> scat singing over strings> uptempo song> fade on piano
***5/ It’s All About Love (4:17) – piano starts. Uptempo jam> uptempo song> guitar solo> uptempo song> quick stop
*6/ Till The End Of Time (5:17) – percussion/piano starts> midtempo bossa nova song> sax solo> midtempo song> instrumental break to fade
7/ You Must Believe In Spring (4:40) – piano starts> slow song> piano solo> slow song> slow fade
*8/ A Beautiful Friendship (4:44) – piano starts strong> midtempo song> swinging guitar solo> bass solo> uptempo song> quick stop
*9/ I Fell In Love With You (3:58) – piano starts> uptempo song> piano solo> guitar solo> uptempo song> crescendo end
*10/ Come On Home (5:28) – piano starts> midtempo blues> guitar solo soars> strutting midtempo son> crescendo end
11/ My True Love Is You (3:12) – guitar starts> slow song> slow fade
*12/ The Gershwin Medley (8:38) – (instrumental with constant shifting melodies) piano starts strong> piano solo> bass solo> piano/bass duet swings to midtempo & fades> pause> drums kick in> fast jam with guitar>lightning fast guitar solo> piano solo> quick stop

Track Listing
1. You Only Live Twice   7. You Must Believe In Spring
2. You And The Music   8. A Beautiful Friendship
3. De Nada   9. I Fell In Love With You
4. Secrets Of My Heart   10. Come On Home
5. It's All About Love   11. My True Love Is You
6. Till The End Of Time   12. The Gershwin Medley