Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Walker, Mark / You Get What You Give
Album:You Get What You Give Collection:Jazz
Artist:Walker, Mark Added:Apr 2019
Label:Fliposhere Music 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2019-04-19 Pull Date:2019-06-21 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Jun 23Jun 16Jun 9May 26May 19May 12May 5Apr 28

 Recent Airplay
1.Aug 24, 2021:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics (rebroadcast from Apr 30, 2019)
Andalusian Sunrise, Candombe In Blue, What About That, Deep Six, Moment's Notice
4.Jun 25, 2019:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Bye-Ya, What About That, Deep Six, Andalusian Sunrise
2.Oct 18, 2019:Clean Copper Radio
Andalusian Sunrise
5.Jun 18, 2019:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Andalusian Sunrise
3.Jun 28, 2019:Clean Copper Radio
All The Things You Are
6.Jun 16, 2019:Stanford Commencement 2019
Deep Six

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2019-04-07 
Reviewed: 2018-04-07
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none
Review: Grammy Award winning drummer Walker has worked extensively with a who’s who of jazz. With his debut album as a leader, “You Get What You Give” (featuring Paquito D’Rivera), he steps into the spotlight and presents an invigorating program of original jazz compositions and standards arranged in funky, soulful and authentic Afro-Latin rhythms.
If You Like: Dave Weckl, Ray Barreto, Chick Corea, Joe Farrell
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
**1/ Candombe In Blue (7:35) – fast tempo acapella scat solo starts> uptempo jam with Latin vibe> scat singing joins in> organ solo> piano soo> uptempo jam with scat> quick stop
2/ Speak No Evil (6:39) – bass starts> midtempo jam with trumpet up front> electric piano solo> trumpet solo swings into uptempo jam> melody shifts> uptempo jam> crescendo end
3/ Akumbia (5:22) – organ starts> midtemo jam> organ solo> midtempo jam> slow fade
**4/ Moment’s Notice (5:57) – drums/percussion starts> uptempo jamwith Latin vibe> sizzling sax solo> electric piano solo> bass solo> uptempo jam> crescendo end
*5/ Bye-Ya (4:31) – piano starts> midtempo jam with organ upfront> flute solo> piano solo> clarinet solo> midtempo jam> quick fade
*6/ Andalusian Sunrise (9:40) – electric piano starts> slow jam> sax solo> piano solo swells in volume & subsides> bass solo> midtempo jam soars on sax & slows to fade
*7/ All The Things You Are (6:43) – piano starts> uptempo jam> organ solo> electric piano solo> uptempo jam> organ solo> quick stop & a drum roll
8/ Timba Blues (3:22) – sax starts>midtempo jam> melody shifts> uptempo jam> quick stop
*9/Deep Six (7:39) – percussion starts> uptempo jam morphs into midtempo> organ solo swings into uptempo jam with drum fills> crescendo end
*10/ What About That (6:50) - organ starts> uptempo jam> organ solo> flute solo> uptempo jam electric piano solo> uptempo jam> quick stop

Track Listing
1.Candombe In Blue 6.Andalusian Sunrise
2.Speak No Eveil 7.All The Things You Are
3.Akumbia 8.Timba Blues
4.Moment's Notice 9.Deep Six
5.Bye-Ya 10.What About That