Cherushii & Maria Minerva / S/T
Album: S/T   Collection:General
Artist:Cherushii & Maria Minerva   Added:Mar 2019
Label:100% Silk  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-04-02 Pull Date: 2019-06-04 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: May 12 Apr 28 Apr 21 Apr 14 Apr 7
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 17, 2023: Alien Hour
A Day Without You (Leech Edit)
4. Apr 20, 2019: Alien Hour
Thin Line
2. May 07, 2019: Attitude Adjustment
Thin Line
5. Apr 14, 2019: w/e
Thin Line
3. Apr 27, 2019: Alien Hour
Thin Line, Boyfriend Shirt
6. Apr 09, 2019: Attitude Adjustment
Thin Line

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2019-03-20
LOCAL! Killer roller disco glitter jams. Eighties synths and percussion effects meet house rhythms, acid techno textures, and deep modern bass. Smooth and bright, with cool, detached vocals. Cherushii (Chelsea Dolan) was a house/techno/disco musician and KALX DJ who died in the Ghost Ship fire, and Maria Minerva is an Estonian artist associated with the hypnagogic pop milieu anchored by labels like Not Not Fun. This collaboration, left mostly completed at Dolan’s death, got finished with the help of a few associates including Brian Foote, who co-runs Kranky. Bangs. Favorites: 1, 2, 6. No FCCs detected.

1. *(5:35)—Mid-tempo. Deep and thick bass undertow, goofy percussive effects. Aggressively bright in parts, but totally locked in and velvety. This is so good.
2. *(7:07)—Medium-slow. Gradual build, minimal synth layers. Spoken vocals. Feels even more eighties-throwback than the other tracks.
3. (6:36)—Medium-fast. A little dark and melancholy, still heavy. Faded calls of “Do you remember?”
4. (3:57)—Fast. Squelchy low-end, ping-ponging tones. Exasperated lyrics.
5. (7:00)—Mid-tempo. Straightforward house feel, smooth 70s keys, swirling vocals deep in the mix.
6. *(4:52)—Mid-tempo. Faded textures and vocals, crisp percussion. Tropical vibe. Re-release from Cherushii’s “Memory of Water” tape.
7. (4:43)—Mid-tempo. Instrumental remix by Brian Foote. Mellow chill-out room version of track 1. Reminiscent of 2010-ish, when chillwave was still being called “glo-fi.”

Track Listing
1. A Day Without You   4. Out By Myself
2. This Must Be The Place   5. Nobody's Fool (Vocal Version)
3. Boyfriend Shirt   6. Thin Line
  7. A Day Without You (Leech Edit)