Ryder-Jones, Bill / Yawn
Album: Yawn   Collection:General
Artist:Ryder-Jones, Bill   Added:Feb 2019
Label:Domino Recording Company  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-03-01 Pull Date: 2019-05-03
Week Ending: Mar 17 Mar 10 Mar 3
Airplays: 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 28, 2022: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Mar 12, 2019)
There's Something On Your Mind
4. Jul 04, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Mar 1, 2019)
John, John
2. Sep 02, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Jul 29, 2021)
There's Something On Your Mind
5. Mar 15, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler's Token Brit Assistant
Don't Be Scared, I Love You
3. Jul 29, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Mar 12, 2019)
There's Something On Your Mind
6. Mar 12, 2019: Magnetized Toner
There's Something On Your Mind

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2019-02-26
“Yawn” Bill Ryder-Jones
Guitar-driven, minimalist grunge rock with weary vocals. This is the fourth solo album from the UK-based singer-songwriter and guitarist. Founder of the Liverpool band, The Coral, and touring member of the Arctic Monkeys. “Yawn” is dark, drowsy and moody throughout — like it takes extraordinary effort to put one foot in front of the other. Haunting and painful, but a sonic experience that in the end, envelopes the listener with reassurance.
— Francis

Recommended: 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 6. No FCCs noted.

1. (5:04) There’s Something On Your Mind — Starts softly — like a hint of rain with a storm approaching — with jangly guitar and languid vocals. By the end, the storm has struck with distorted guitar and feedback.
2. (5:53) Time Will Be The Only Saviour — Druggy and drowsy, with hazy vocals, fuzzy guitars, slow bass, and cello. Note: Amazon says this track is “explicit,” but I can’t hear any FCC violation.
3. (3:36) Recover — Lighter musically, with fingerpicked guitar. Breathy, trance-like vocals. Warm strings underneath. ****
4. (6:09) Mither — Strummed guitar building into big washes, over a nimbly tripping drum line. Cello in the mix as well. Peaceful lead break. ***
5. (4:35) And Then There’s You — Rolling and swaying, with complex rhythm and ringing guitar. Big reverbed guitar solos in each chorus. ***
6. (5:18) There Are Worse Things I Could Do — Starts big, then resolves into a slow-paced, jangly, torch song. Keys under. **
7. (4:18) Don’t Be Scared, I Love You — Languorous, chugging bass and repetitive guitar, with faint, croaky vocals way down in the mix. ***
8. (4:38) John — Otherworld synth soundscape, with female backing vocals. Slowly strummed, jangly guitar. Halting vocals. Segues into Track 9. ***
9. (6:23) No One’s Trying To Kill You — More emotionally uplifting than “John.” Slow-tempo, but with some positive energy. Big jangles. Brushes on drums. Muted, breathy vocals, with nice backing vocals.
10. (6:39) Happy Song — Happy lyrics, but still a bit of a slog musically. Strummed guitar, with distortion and feedback in the choruses. Strings. Squeezed, thin vocals down in the mix. Strong backbeat. Long, noisy trail-out.

Track Listing
1. There's Something On Your Mind   6. There Are Worse Things I Could Do
2. Time Will Be The Only Saviour   7. Don't Be Scared, I Love You
3. Recover   8. John
4. Mither   9. No One's Trying To Kill You
5. And Then There's You   10. Happy Song