Sneaks / Highway Hypnosis
Album: Highway Hypnosis   Collection:General
Artist:Sneaks   Added:Feb 2019
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-02-22 Pull Date: 2019-04-26
Week Ending: Apr 28 Apr 14 Apr 7 Mar 17 Mar 10 Mar 3
Airplays: 2 1 1 3 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 30, 2021: The Library (rebroadcast from Mar 6, 2019)
4. Jun 30, 2021: The Library (rebroadcast from Apr 10, 2019)
2. Oct 22, 2021: Grace and Jam (rebroadcast from Apr 4, 2019)
5. Jun 03, 2021: Rebroadcast: Magnetized Toner
Highway Hypnosis
3. Jul 15, 2021: The Library (rebroadcast from Apr 10, 2019)
6. May 05, 2019: w/e
Hong Kong To Amsterdam

Album Review
Danny Danger
Reviewed 2019-02-25
Danny Danger
Reviewed 02/18/2019

Artist: Sneaks
Album: Highway Hypnosis

Highway Hypnosis is the fourth album from the Washington, D.C. based minimalist musician, Sneaks. Merging ghostly indie pop and spaced out hip-hop, Sneaks finds the middle ground which seems strangely enough to be the DIY punk scene. She adds her repetitive spoken-word vocals plus chanting over a bed of lo-fi bass, drum machine, and minimal keyboards.

Related Artists: Vagabon, Superorganism, Sleaford Mods, Priests, Chastity Belt
FCC: none – album’s clean version
Reviewer Favorites: 2, 8

1. Highway Hypnosis (1:56) – repetitive whispering of “highway hypnosis,” sharp background beat, faint singing fades in and out over other sounds, alternatively meditative
2. The Way It Goes (2:48) – midtempo cartoony action-scene sound merged with strong low-fi beats, repetitive lyrics, bounce background with wavy feel, chanting over absence of music for last 30ish seconds
3. Ecstasy (2:23) – space-y/other worldly singing, strong background percussion, DJ soundboard usage, musical beeps over harmonizing
4. Suck It Like a Whistle (2:33) – soft intro that gradually gets louder, electronic beats, staccato sound, transitions into silence
5. Addis (1:38) – sounds like a broom hitting the floor and animated clanging pots over low-fi beats, auto-tuned singing, laughing, transitions into silence, wavy feel
6. Saiditzoneza (1:40) – low-fi beats, random static or altered breathing, female chanting, hip hop beat
7. Money Don’t Grown on Trees (2:12) – top 40 intro that transitions into staccato beat, snapping, soft singing, midtempo, transitions into new sound with about 30 seconds left – sounds like a forelorn wind whistle
8. Cinnamon (2:27) – electronic low-fi bouncy beat, fluid midtempo song, clear usage of DJ soundboard, slow but peppy vibe, multiple people singing/talking
9. Holy Cow Never Saw a Girl Like Her (0:55) – midtempo, deep electronic bass repetitive refrain, repetitive lyrics, transitions into silence
10. Beliefs (2:48) – sounds of a sci-fi science lab (lasers, keypad tapping), hollow feel, repetitive lyrics, transitions into dissonant piano playing and then into deep bass beats
11. And We’re Off (2:14) – deep electronic bass turns into punk rock sound, drums percussion in the background, with soft hollow singing overlaid, slow to midtempo
12. A Lil Close (2:25) – staccato beats laid over other staccato beats, soft repetitive singing, alternative feel, guitar (?)
13. Hong Kong to Amsterdam (2:53) – hollow beat sound almost like a tennis ball hitting the wall, speaking singing that is heavily influenced by the beat behind it, electronic album scratching, K-Pop meets Prince over whisper lyrics

Track Listing
1. Highway Hypnosis   7. Money Don't Grow On Trees
2. The Way It Goes   8. Cinnamon
3. Ecstasy   9. Holy Cow Never Saw A Girl Like Her
4. Suck It Like A Whistle   10. Beliefs
5. Addis   11. And We're Off
6. Saiditzoneza   12. A Lil Close
  13. Hong Kong To Amsterdam