Jean Grae & Quelle Chris / Everything's Fine
Album: Everything's Fine   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Jean Grae & Quelle Chris   Added:Feb 2019
Label:Mello Music Group  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-02-14 Pull Date: 2019-04-18 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: Apr 21 Apr 7 Mar 3 Feb 24
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 17, 2019: Emergency Crew (sub for The Library)
Gold Purple Orange, Don't Worry It's Fine (Feat John Hodgman, Michael Che)
3. Feb 28, 2019: Color Theory
Waiting For The Moon (Feat Anna Wise, Mosel)
2. Apr 02, 2019: Attitude Adjustment
Waiting For The Moon (Feat Anna Wise, Mosel), House Call (Feat Anna Wise, Big Tone, Jonathan Hoard)
4. Feb 19, 2019: Attitude Adjustment
My Contributions To This Scam

Album Review
Danny Danger
Reviewed 2019-02-08
Danny Danger
Reviewed 02/03/2019

Artist: Jean Grae, Quelle Chris
Album: Everything’s Fine
Label: Mello Music Group

Everything's Fine is a 2018 collaborative studio album by American rappers Jean Grae and Quelle Chris. It is a satirical album and that makes use of a lot of dark humor. The main themes of the lyrics from the album are complacency and stereotypes, and draws influence from many musical genres including jazz and “dream pop”
Explaining the title Grae says, "As you get older, it tends to be a response that you give more and more without realizing that you're even doing it. You're like, 'Everything's fine,' but the narrator in your head is like, 'Everything was not fine.'"

Related Artists: Talib Kweli, Lupe Fiasco, Phonte, Pharoahe Monch, Sammus
*FCC: 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14(use of n-word, sexually explicit, other generic curse words)
Reviewer Favorites: 7, 10, 12, 14

1. Everthing’s Fine (1:07) – An imitation game show that ends in a dystopic sound
2. *My Contribution to This Scam (4:42) – clear social commentary, midtempo rapping over muted beat and a soft static sound, “my contribution to this scam” repeated over and over, transition into what sounds like a television show
3. *Ohsh (4:32) – percussive, midtempo, Tyler the Creator-esque sound, “shiiiiiit” said in various ways – comedic in nature, ends with clips from television
4. *House Call (3:17) – quick beat, undertone of an electronic/synth sound, Parliament Funkadelic influence
5. Don’t Worry It’s Fine (0:50) – old recording of “everyone’s a winner” and repetition of people saying “everything’s fine” over a horn sound
6. *Gold Purple Orange (5:00) – instrumental beginning from soft beats, lyrics initially just a spouting of stereotypes and then context given later, jazzy horns toward middle of song
7. *Peacock (3:16) – synth accompanied by beads and back-up vocals to the rapping, electronic feel with explicitly electronic outro
8. *Doing Better Than Ever (2:07) – one-sided conversation held first loudly and then softly and then loudly (again) over percussion and instances of piano playing
9. *The Smoking Man (3:53) – sounds like the background to a horror movie - haunting, prominent drums
10. *Breakfast of Champions (3:14) – commentary on police shootings, staccato drums, a bit dissonant-distorted, low-fi yet uplifting feel
11. *Scoop of Dirt (4:03) – movie sample start, buzzing/experimental background, midtempo, return to satire acting to end
12. *Zero (4:45) – sounds like a clip from a seminar video for the first minute, building instrumental, drums/cymbals, electronic/experimental background, electronic fade out
13. *Everything’s Still Fine (2:12) – clips of “everything’s fine” being repeated from the show Parks and Rec over elevator music
14. *Waiting for the Moon (5:29) – smooth. & enticing beats, male and female vocals, closest song to a top 40 sound
15. *River (6:56) – crescendo-y intro, soft piano sound, switch into a hip hop beat with a classical overtone around minute 2, no vocals until minute 3, poetic rapping, long outro

Track Listing
1. Everything's Fine   8. Doing Better Than Ever (Feat Ashok Kondabolu)
2. My Contributions To This Scam   9. The Smoking Man (Feat Denmark Vessey)
3. Ohsh (Feat Hannibal Buress)   10. Breakfast Of Champions
4. House Call (Feat Anna Wise, Big Tone, Jonathan Hoard)   11. Scoop Of Dirt (Feat Your Old Droog)
5. Don't Worry It's Fine (Feat John Hodgman, Michael Che)   12. Zero
6. Gold Purple Orange   13. Everything's Still Fine (Feat Nick Offerman)
7. Peacock   14. Waiting For The Moon (Feat Anna Wise, Mosel)
  15. River (Feat Anna Wise)