Mason, Steve / About The Light
Album: About The Light   Collection:General
Artist:Mason, Steve   Added:Jan 2019
Label:Domino Recording Company  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-01-22 Pull Date: 2019-03-26
Week Ending: Mar 31 Mar 24 Mar 10 Mar 3 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10 Feb 3
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 29, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Stars Around My Heart
4. Jul 04, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Mar 1, 2019)
America Is Your Boyfriend
2. Oct 11, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Mar 8, 2019)
Walking Away From Love
5. Jul 01, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Mar 19, 2019)
Stars Around My Heart
3. Jul 14, 2021: Totally A (rebroadcast from Feb 1, 2019)
Walking Away From Love
6. Jun 30, 2021: Totally A (rebroadcast from Feb 1, 2019)
Walking Away From Love

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2019-01-22
“About The Light” Steve Mason
Guitar-driven indie pop-rock and alt rock. Scotland’s Steve Mason was lead singer for The Beta Band, a successful UK band with three studio albums from 1999 to the mid-2000s. Mason embarked on a solo career in 2010 and “About The Light” is his fourth solo release. This is the most exuberant and uplifting of Mason’s career after he relocated from Fife to Brighton, entered into a relationship and became a dad. An outstanding collection of 1990s-flavored Brit pop-rock.
— Francis D.

Recommended: 6, 9, 2, 1, 4, 8. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:43) America Is Your Boyfriend — Big, up-tempo, brass-embellished pop-rock. Rollicking guitar, with cowbell! Wry commentary on British-American relations: “This is the lie. This is the smile. America is your boyfriend.” ***
2. (4:58) Rocket — Leisurely walk with a trip-hop beat through a catchy guitar-driven melody. Bright vocals in a high register with warm harmonies, melodica and a touch of brass (reminiscent of a Van Morrison ballad). Clock-like piano at the end. ***
3. (3:10) No Clue — Up-tempo, jangly guitar-rock. Call-and-response vocals, with harmonies. A real goer.
4. (4:27) About The Light — Soulful and bluesy rock. Piano. Blues guitar. Simple rhythm. Gospel singers on harmonies. Playful and jammy. ***
5. (4:39) Fox On The Rooftop — Slightly eerie and atmospheric, with Mason’s unique harmonies and twinkling, bell-like vibraphone or synths.
6. (4:06) Stars Around My Heart — Strutting, march-like tune, with sharp guitar riffs and piano. Powerful, doubled lead vocals. Rich harmonies in the chorus. Brass as well. ****
7. (3:31) Spanish Brigade — Chugging guitar rock. Throwback to a 1970s-era sound.
8. (3:58) Don’t Know Where — Pensive and thoughtful. Reverbed vocals, breathy at times. Starts with spare instrumentation. Transitions to a simple, lilting ballad. ***
9. (3:41) Walking Away From Love — 60s-era, Bo Diddley-esque rock sensibilities, but with rich harmonies and a melodic piano-driven lead break. Hoppin’ rock ‘n’ roll with handclaps. Great guitar work. ****
10. (3:45) The End — Uplifting, bouncy pop-rock, dripping with rich harmonies. Liberal use of brass to supplement the accomplished guitar work, bass and drums.

Track Listing
1. America Is Your Boyfriend   6. Stars Around My Heart
2. Rocket   7. Spanish Brigade
3. No Clue   8. Don't Know Where
4. About The Light   9. Walking Away From Love
5. Fox On The Rooftop   10. The End