Unknown Me / Astronauts
Album: Astronauts   Collection:General
Artist:Unknown Me   Added:Jan 2019
Label:Not Not Fun  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-03-12 Pull Date: 2019-05-14
Week Ending: May 12 Mar 24
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 01, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Mar 19, 2019)
Brazilian Space Agendy
3. Mar 19, 2019: Magnetized Toner
Brazilian Space Agendy
2. May 11, 2019: Music Casserole
Unknown Season

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2019-02-07
Japanese synthesis quartet explores “20th century space development.” Fun, pleasant, luxurious sci-fi instrumentals, retro in concept but genuine in execution, not tossed off as kitsch or self-ironized as vaporwave. I think they use turntables, CDJs, and laptops to make their music; it’s kind of like a DIY Kraftwerk. Favorites: 1, 4, 7, 8. No FCCs.

1. *(4:22)—Watery bloops and synth drones. Vocal pulses. A high, occasional melody.
2. (3:39)—Pleasant synth drone. Lots of drum panning. Vocoder sounds. Faded bits of organ.
3. (1:07)—Blips. Deep drone.
4. (4:09)—Hand drum polyrhythms, piano. Processed vocals?
5. *(4:38)—Staticky vinyl loop. Very pretty. High synth soloing. Bird-like sounds.
6. (1:25)—Lasers, broken transmissions, soft drone.
7. *(4:32)—Scratching sounds, synth bubbles, funny synth flute. Some vocoder vocals.
8. *(4:47)—Clicking down-tempo rhythm. Mellow.

Track Listing
1. Mercury Seven   5. Orbicular Water
2. No Gravity   6. Radiation
3. Buzz Aldrin's Dream   7. Unknown Season
4. Brazilian Space Agendy   8. Return To The Earth