Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Phosphorescent / C'est La Vie
Album:C'est La Vie Collection:General
Artist:Phosphorescent Added:Jan 2019
Label:Dead Oceans 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2019-01-22 Pull Date:2019-03-26 
Week Ending:Mar 24Mar 17Mar 10Mar 3Feb 24Feb 17Feb 10Feb 3

 Recent Airplay
1.Mar 24, 2023:KZSU Time Traveler
C'es La Vie, No. 2
4.Oct 12, 2021:Traditions (rebroadcast from Mar 29, 2019)
Black Waves / Silver Moon
2.Sep 09, 2022:KZSU Time Traveler
New Birth In New England
5.Oct 11, 2021:KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Mar 8, 2019)
My Beautiful Boy, Christmas Down Under, New Birth In New England, C'es La Vie, No. 2
3.Nov 30, 2021:The Library (rebroadcast from Mar 6, 2019)
New Birth In New England
6.Sep 12, 2021:Radiant Airwaves (rebroadcast from Mar 10, 2019)
New Birth In New England

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2019-01-13 

After a five-year break and a move from Brooklyn to Nashville, here is Matthew Houck’s (as Phosphorescent) follow up to his breakout album Muchacho, which got good airplay on KZSU. Houch brings strong singing to his clever songwriting and intricate multi-instrument arrangements. Songs are about love, loss, fatherhood, all that good songwriting stuff.

No FCC issues

1 Striking but very short prelude. Synth & non-verbal chants. Can be intro to #2. (1:17)
2 ** Mid-slow. Gorgeous & heartbreaking song about loss of love. Keys & vox. (3:25)
3 ** Mid-fast. Fun Paul Simon-like tune. Bouncy calypso rhythm guitar & synth. (5:00)
4 Slow. Gentle & melancholy. Vague: something has changed; it’s not clear what. (5:21)
5 Mid-tempo. Strong, churning rhythm; lots going on; but lyric lost in the mix. (8:11)
6 Slow, dreamy, Bon Iver-ish. Feelings of sadness on vacation. Electric guitar solo. (6:15)
7 * A pretty ballad for his baby boy. Layered guitars incl slide; elegant keys & perc. (5:46)
8 * Slow, sad, graceful. A lament about the burdens we carry through life. (4:26)
9 * Mid-tempo. Rich, immersive instrumental (with non-verbal voices). (6:22)

Track Listing
1.Black Moon / Silver Waves 5.Around The Horn
2.C'es La Vie, No. 2 6.Christmas Down Under
3.New Birth In New England 7.My Beautiful Boy
4.There From Here 8.These Rocks
 9.Black Waves / Silver Moon