Lowe, Nick Featuring Los Straitjackets / Tokyo Bay
Album: Tokyo Bay   Collection:General
Artist:Lowe, Nick Featuring Los Straitjackets   Added:Nov 2018
Label:Yep Roc Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-11-16 Pull Date: 2019-01-18
Week Ending: Jan 20 Jan 13 Jan 6 Dec 30 Dec 23 Dec 16 Dec 9 Dec 2
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 07, 2024: down in the basement
Travelling Light
4. Sep 23, 2022: Music Genealogy
Tokyo Bay
2. Feb 08, 2024: down in the basement
Travelling Light
5. Jun 29, 2021: Magnetized Toner: Best of 2018 [Part 1] (rebroadcast from Jan 15, 2019)
Tokyo Bay
3. Dec 15, 2022: down in the basement
6. Jun 02, 2021: Some Songs Without Words
Tokyo Bay

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2018-11-13
Tokyo Bay is the latest release by British 1980’s new wave crooner Nick Lowe. Accompanied by Los Straitjackets on this EP (presented as two 7” singles in a gatefold package), the legendary singer-songwriter and producer deliver a tasteful set of laidback rockabilly inspired cuts soaked in surf rock guitars and classic rock n’ roll attitude.

Something else from the press release:
Nick Lowe is back and has re-discovered his rockin' side on his first new release in half a decade. Tokyo Bay/Crying Inside is a four song EP featuring two Nick originals, the shiprockin' "Tokyo Bay" and introspective "Crying Inside," plus covers of the Bee Gees' "Heartbreaker" and Cliff Richard's "Travellin' Light." Nick's recent tour mates, Los Straitjackets, are his backing band on this record, contributing to the sounds of Nick rocking his hardest in decades.

RIYL: Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys, Los Straitjackets, The Blasters, Lost Acapulco and Brian Setzer.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 2, 3, 4

1. (2:53) **Crying Inside – Medium tempo. 1950's crooner here. Nice melody, solid guitars
2. (3:52) *Heartbreaker – Slow tempo. Rock n' roll ballad. Tender.
3. (2:23) ***Tokyo Bay – Medium-up tempo. Yeah! My favorite track on this EP. Killer guitars, awesome vocals.
4. (3:03) **Travellin' Light – Medium-up tempo. Another solid rock n' roll cut here. Digging those guitars.

Track Listing
1. Crying Inside   3. Tokyo Bay
2. Heartbreaker   4. Travelling Light