Exploded View / Obey
Album: Obey   Collection:General
Artist:Exploded View   Added:Oct 2018
Label:Sacred Bones Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-11-04 Pull Date: 2019-01-06
Week Ending: Jan 6 Dec 23 Dec 16 Dec 9 Nov 25 Nov 18 Nov 11
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 08, 2023: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Obey, Open Road
4. Jan 01, 2019: Magnetized Toner: Eclectic Mix 2019 Vol. 1
Open Road
2. Oct 16, 2019: The Fuzz Deli
Dark Stains
5. Dec 19, 2018: The Fuzz Deli
Come On Honey
3. Jan 29, 2019: Magnetized Toner = Best of 2018 [Conclusion] + New Music
Dark Stains
6. Dec 13, 2018: Hanging in the bone yard
Open Road, Lullaby

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2018-10-28
Exploded View is a multinational trio comprised of UK-born, Berlin-based political-journalist-turned-musician Annika Henderson (vocals, synth) and Mexican producers Martin Thulin (drums, guitar) and Hugo Quezada (bass, synth). Henderson has previously recorded krautrock-influenced solo work under the moniker Anika. While retaining some of these sonic sensibilities, Exploded View adopts a far more avant-garde approach. Their second album Obey is cut from a similar cloth as its predecessor, with vocalist Anika Henderson helming a series of psychedelic, buzzing, rhythmic synth-punk dirges that often build up from a central groove.

Like: Priests, Iceage, Preoccupations, Sneaks, The KVB

FCC Clean

Play: 1, 4, 6, 9

1.Lullaby (2:12) Sorrowful melodies with a dystopian characteristic.
2.Open Road (4:19) A bubbling synth effect ushers in a fairly conventional song structure.
3.Dark Stains (3:25) Militaristic electronic beats and stuttering arpeggiated synths.
4.Gone Tomorrow (5:03) Haunting synthwave track.
5.Obey (5:29) Swirl of synths slowly gives way to letting other hooks punch through the noise.
6.Sleepers (3:49) Shoegaze experiment, adrift in blazing synths and fuzz guitar.
7.Letting Go of Childhood Dreams (2:41) Pleasant and airy moody slow-burner.
8.Raven Raven (3:32) Gritty bass throb driving ominous synth noise and electrified chimes.
9.Come On Honey (2:52) This track is just sheer fury without a constraint.
10.Rant (4:45) Aptitude of awakening a mellow feeling with simple and direct melodies.

Track Listing
1. Lullaby   6. Sleepers
2. Open Road   7. Letting Go Of Childhood Dreams
3. Dark Stains   8. Raven Raven
4. Gone Tomorrow   9. Come On Honey
5. Obey   10. Rant