Vantomme, Dominique / Vegir
Album: Vegir   Collection:General
Artist: Vantomme, Dominique   Added:Oct 2018
Label: Moonjune  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-10-08 Pull Date: 2018-12-10
Week Ending: Dec 9 Nov 4 Oct 21
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 07, 2018: Old Fart at Play
Equal Minds
3. Oct 20, 2018: Music Casserole
2. Nov 03, 2018: Music Casserole
Agent Orange

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2018-10-05
Reviewed: 2018-10-05
Genre: General
FCCs: none
Review: Impressive instrumental tour de force through progrock, jazz, & psychedelia. From Belgium. Some patience is required, as most tracks take their time, but this only adds to the albums appeal.
If You Like: Pink Floyd, King Crimson, Soft Machine
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
**1/ Double Down (10:31) – guitar starts with repetitive riff > slow jam builds to midtempo rocking space jam> fade
*2/ Equal Minds (10:31) – synth starts> slow heavy space jam builds in volume & intensity, constantly evolving> fade
3/ Sizzurp (10:46) – guitar starts> midtempo space jam hits a wall of heavy chords> slow fade> melody shift> midtempo space jam> wild guitar solo slows to slow jam> slow fade
*4/ Playing Chess With Barney Rubble (8:52) – bass starts> midtempo electronic funk jam> vamping on the synth> electric piano solo morphs into psychedelic space jam> wailing guitar solo morphs into heavy space jam> fade
5/ The Self-Licking Ice Cream Cone (13:08) – drums start> midtempo jam> Rhodes solo swings wild, then mellows to slow jam> guitar solo builds in tempo & intensity> morphs into slow space jam> synth solo> midtempo space jam> crescendo end
6/ Plutocracy (4:34) – synth starts, almost like a church organ> uptempo jam a la ELP morphs into psychedelic space jam> fade
**7/ Agent Orange (9:45) – synth starts> slow evolving space jam builds to midtempo> slow fade
*8/ Emmetropia (9:00) – electric piano starts> slow space jam> wild slow guitar solo morphs into slow space jam like a soundtrack to a scary space movie morphs into midtempo rocking space jam> slow fade
9/ Odin’s Wig (1:54) – synth starts> slow space jam> fade

Track Listing
1. Double Down   5. The Self-Licking Ice-Cream Cone
2. Equal Minds   6. Plutocracy
3. Sizzurp   7. Agent Orange
4. Playing Chess With Barney Rubble   8. Emmetropia
  9. Odin's Wig