High Sunn / Missed Connections
Album: Missed Connections   Collection:General
Artist:High Sunn   Added:Sep 2018
Label:Pnkslm Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-09-30 Pull Date: 2018-12-02
Week Ending: Dec 2 Nov 25 Nov 18 Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14
Airplays: 2 1 5 2 1 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 30, 2021: w/e (rebroadcast from Oct 10, 2018)
Banh Mi
4. Nov 25, 2018: Music Genealogy
Those Last Words
2. Dec 04, 2018: Hot Probs
Summer Solstice, Kokuhaku
5. Nov 20, 2018: Hot Probs
Indirect Kiss, Kokuhaku
3. Nov 28, 2018: The Fuzz Deli
Indirect Kiss
6. Nov 16, 2018: Hot Probs SPECIAL
I Thought You Were There

Album Review
DJ Dissociation
Reviewed 2018-09-28
Missed Connections (High Sunn)

Reviewed by: DJ Dissociation, 9.26.18

High Sunn is the solo project of 18 year old San Francisco native Justin Cheromiah; Missed Connections is his first full-length album after a series of EPs. Heavy vocal filters and indie rock instrumentation characterize the majority of the album, which picks up in energy after the fifth track. Each track is short, 3 minutes at most. RIYL: Tame Impala, Cage the Elephant.

Rec: 6,7,8. FCCs: none

1. (2:17) Midtempo indie lament with shakily delivered vocals. 2. (3:18) Strong start with spots of shrieking guitar, vocals are the low point of this track. 3. (2:47) Tame Impala vibes, distorted vocals over uptempo rock. 4. (2:33) More washy indie rock, refrain ‘I am a terrible person.’ 5. (2:43) ‘Kokuhaku’ is, roughly, the act of confessing love in Japanese culture; the lyrics reflect this. Besides that, the track doesn’t stand out from the rest. 6.* (2:50) With clearer vocals and a more driving instrumental line, this track picks the album up from the monotony of its first half. 7.* (2:24) Upbeat guitar and drums cut through mildly monotonous vocals for a pleasant indie rock track. 8.* (2:41) This one features a catchy motif ‘so I made a song/ for you to dance along’ and an upbeat instrumentation. 9. (3:01) Bright guitar riffs and a driving indie rock beat. 10. (3:04) Vocals half-yelled reminiscent of Tame Impala, strong guitar.

Track Listing
1. Summer Solstice   6. Banh Mi
2. I Thought You Were There   7. Indirect Kiss
3. Those Last Words   8. Dedication
4. Soft Spoken   9. Freshman Year
5. Kokuhaku   10. Hoho Market