Escape-Ism / Lost Record, The
Album: Lost Record, The   Collection:General
Artist:Escape-Ism   Added:Sep 2018
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-09-23 Pull Date: 2018-11-25
Week Ending: Nov 18 Nov 11 Oct 21 Oct 14
Airplays: 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 05, 2022: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
The Lost Record
4. Nov 27, 2018: Magnetized Toner
What Sign (Was Frankenstein?)
2. Aug 12, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Oct 15, 2019)
What Sign (Was Frankenstein?)
5. Nov 17, 2018: Music Casserole
What Sign (Was Frankenstein?)
3. Dec 11, 2018: Magnetized Toner
What Sign (Was Frankenstein?)
6. Nov 06, 2018: Hot Probs
The Lost Record

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2018-09-21
The Lost Record is the second release by Washington, D.C.’s Escape-ism. It’s the latest project by, quoting his label Merge records, the “mythic rock ’n’ roll provocateur and theorist” Ian Svenonius (The Make-Up, Chain & The Gang, etc). In a nutshell, The Lost Record is a conceptual album about a lost record speaking in first person about its ups and downs in life as a recorded product and performed in the style of Suicide and led by Ian’s vocals all the way. Quite entertaining and even more funky than expected.

RIYL: Suicide, Juana Molina, Dark Entries Records

Recommended Tracks: 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12

1. (2:51) **The Lost Record – Medium tempo. If a record could talk.
2. (3:15) *Nothing Personal – Medium tempo. Just a reminder: it’s nothing personal.
3. (2:25) I’m a Lover (at Close Range) – Slow tempo. Classic exalted Ian vocals. Recollections at a very close range.
4. (3:06) **(I’m Gonna) Bite the Hand That Feeds – Medium-up tempo. The single of the record. Good musical vibes despite the ungrateful wishes.
5. (3:47) Bodysnatcher – Medium tempo. Keeping the groves nice and tight. Come and get it.
6. (2:54) **The Feeling’s Mutual – Medium-up tempo. Good times here. Feeling this track too.
7. (2:31) *I Don’t Know Where Those Words Have Been – Slow tempo. Don’t you always wonder the same?
8. (2:43) **Exorcist Stairs – Medium tempo. Close your eyes and let those feelings out.
9. (2:36) You Darken My Night – Slow tempo. Everything is possible at night.
10. (1:40) Alphabet’s Gotta Be Changed – Slow tempo. The epilogue of the previous track . Linear conversation.
11. (3:11) *Rome Wasn’t Burnt in a Day – Medium tempo. Channeling the spirit of “ I Wanna Be Your Dog,” a solid recording with a very valid claim.
12. (4:03) **What Sign (Was Frankenstein?) – Medium tempo. Epic question. Those early groves never went away. T. Rex nos gusta a todos.

Track Listing
1. The Lost Record   7. I Don?T Know Where Those Words Have Been
2. Nothing Personal   8. Exorcist Stairs
3. I?M A Lover (At Close Range)   9. You Darken My Night
4. (I?M Gonna) Bite The Hand That Feeds   10. Alphabet?S Gotta Be Changed
5. Bodysnatcher   11. Rome Wasn?T Burnt In A Day
6. The Feeling?S Mutual   12. What Sign (Was Frankenstein?)