Young Fathers / Cocoa Sugar
Album: Cocoa Sugar   Collection:General
Artist:Young Fathers   Added:Jul 2018
Label:Ninja Tune  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-08-12 Pull Date: 2018-10-14
Week Ending: Oct 7 Sep 16 Sep 9 Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 19
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 01, 2021: Stranded at Settembrini's (rebroadcast from Jun 3, 2021)
4. Oct 02, 2018: Nowhere Local
In My View
2. Jun 03, 2021: Stranded at Settembrini's
5. Sep 13, 2018: subwoofer etc etc etc
3. Jul 09, 2020: Stranded at Settembrini's
6. Sep 11, 2018: Everyday PMA
In My View

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-08-01
Avant-pop vocal trio from Scotland, with some hip-hop leanings. Compact, hyperactive, introspective, subtly experimental and subversive, very catchy. There are some flat-out incredible pop songs on here, the kind you rush to start again as soon as they stop. Young Fathers are big in the UK but much less so here, and that deserves to change. RIYL all the Anticon projects, Algiers, Shabazz Palaces, Clipping. Favorites: 1, 3, 5, 6, 7. FCC WARNING: 2, 10, 11.

1. *(2:01)—Slow, choppy R&B builds to the verge of a dramatic anthems. Dissonant violins.
2. (2:42)—FCC (s***, f***). Grainy hip-hop feel. Chopped-up piano. Lots of vocal manipulation.
3. *(3:16)—Fast, intense, dire, intricately layered, picks up momentum before you even notice it. My favorite pop song of 2018 so far.
4. (3:37)—Fast, upbeat, bouncy. Minimal beginning, fuzzed-out rapping. Really reminds me of Subtle.
5. *(3:35)—Slow gospel. Fragile piano, thick synth pulses, big and fuzzed out finish.
6. *(3:09)—Medium-fast, pretty. Restrained tick-tock beat, psychedelic effects, organ.
7. *(4:00)—Fast electro-post-punk, almost krautrock. Screaming, deadpan spoken word. Shoo-bop vocals.
8. (4:01)—Glitchy funk. Beatboxing? Big group vocals.
9. (2:33)—Fast. Breakbeats, warbly synth, like a skewed take on ‘80s hip-hop.
10. (1:40)—FCC (f***). Very fast techno.
11. (3:14)—FCC (f***). Fast ping-pong beat. Sarcastic, derisive. Group shouting, clapping.
12. (3:05)—Slow, not far from trap. Snare rolls, thin organ. “Good men are strange, bad men are obvious.”

Track Listing
1. See How   7. Wow
2. Fee Fi   8. Border Girl
3. In My View   9. Holy Ghost
4. Turn   10. Wire
5. Lord   11. Toy
6. Tremolo   12. Picking You