Brown Bags / Twenty-Something Mutant Nobodies
Album: Twenty-Something Mutant Nobodies   Collection:General
Artist:Brown Bags   Added:Jul 2018
Label:Side With Us  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-08-02 Pull Date: 2018-10-04
Week Ending: Sep 23 Sep 9 Aug 19
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 14, 2022: Stranded at Settembrini's
White Mountain
4. Sep 22, 2018: Music Casserole
No Matter
2. Aug 20, 2020: Stranded at Settembrini's
The Well
5. Sep 05, 2018: The Library
White Mountain
3. Oct 09, 2018: Magnetized Toner
6. Aug 16, 2018: butterscotch memory
White Mountain

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-07-31
LOCAL! Catchy, intelligent cross of pop-punk and emo from four longtime Santa Rosa punx. This is their first album, and it’s a long time coming after their captivating debut EP in 2013. It’s crisp and heavy but not aggro, bursting with great songwriting and some of the best lyrics I’ve heard from any recent emo or emo-ish bands. Even if you don’t think pop-punk is your thing, this is highly recommended for anyone who cares about articulate, boosting rock ’n’ roll. RIYL the best of the 2010s emo bands; Cloud Nothings and Titus Andronicus et al; Santa Rosa groups like The Velvet Teen, The New Trust, Santiago, and State Faults/Slow Bloom. Favorites: 1 (during safe harbor), 2, 3. FCC WARNING: 1, 5, 6.

1. *(3:34)—FCC (f***). Fast pop-punk storytelling song about a surreal prison break. Great and totally worth playing during safe harbor.
2. *(3:20)—Mid-tempo anti-hard-drug song with a great controlled build. Could’ve been a 90’s indie rock hit.
3. *(4:21)—Slow and melancholy. Hits hard. Lovely harmonies, long instrumental finish.
4. (4:07)—Fast, crunchy, with a lot of pop-punk hooks and flourishes.
5. (4:53)—FCC (a*****e). Slow anthem against toxic masculinity. Reminscent of Built to Spill in places.
6. (2:01)—FCC (s***). Fast bash-out.
7. (4:08)—Mid-tempo. The vocals feel especially emo here. Cloud Nothings fans may dig.
8. (9:50)—Slow, calm beginning. Soft electric guitar, tight and minimal drums. Leans into a rocking plod at two minutes, picks up and hits a nice groove. Lots of dynamic shifts and some group vocals; definitely for fans of Titus Andronicus.

Track Listing
1. Ernest Goes To Jail   5. Walnuts
2. White Mountain   6. Splinter
3. The Well   7. (Not) Again
4. Stoneflesh   8. No Matter