Rose, Caroline / Loner
Album: Loner   Collection:General
Artist:Rose, Caroline   Added:Jun 2018
Label:New West Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-06-26 Pull Date: 2018-08-28
Week Ending: Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12 Aug 5 Jul 29 Jul 22 Jul 15 Jul 8
Airplays: 3 4 3 5 4 5 3 7

Recent Airplay
1. May 08, 2024: Comes to Mind
4. Apr 17, 2024: The Library
Jeannie Becomes A Mom
2. May 08, 2024: That's not Bluegrass
Getting To Me
5. Mar 27, 2024: The Library
Jeannie Becomes A Mom
3. Apr 24, 2024: The Library
6. Jun 16, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Soul No. 5

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2018-06-24
“Loner” Caroline Rose
With “Loner,” New York-based singer-songwriter, Caroline Rose, has taken a big step forward since her 2014 album, “I Will Not Be Afraid.” That release was primarily alt-country or Americana. On this album, she’s established herself as a promising indie rock/punk artist with an ample helping of the creativity, confidence and irreverence of St. Vincent. Inspiration for the tracks are derived from the catchy synths one might hear in a Justin Timberlake or Britney Spears song all the way to “riot grrl feminist surf punk” and even psychobilly. A daring, boldy performed and thought-provoking album from a talented young artist.
— Trish McBride and Francis D.

Recommended: 3, 1, 7, 9, 4. No FCCs noted.

1. (4:09) More Of the Same — Staccato organ pattern mixed with milky guitar arpeggios and playful synths. Warm, slightly throaty vocals. ****
2. (3:44) Cry! — Power pop with rapidly pulsing synth bass and pedal steel guitar. Slightly mystic-sounding lead break.
3. (2:16) Money — Frenetic psychobilly. Punky vocals. “I did it for the money.” ****
4. (4:21) Jeannie Becomes A Mom — Slow dance track with a great bass groove and organ stingers. Commentary on the suburban scene from a cool remove. **
5. (3:34) Getting To Me — Plucked strings with storytelling vocals about losing patience in dealing with the demands of daily life.
6. (3:41) To Die Today — Shimmering synths with a lazy trip-hop beat and a weird psychedelic vibe.
7. (3:10) Soul No. 5 — Rubbery bass line pulses beneath a sexy, self-aware romp. Vocals laid-back and almost spoken. ***
8. (0.49) Smile! (Bikini Intro) — Distorted instrumental with nagging voices saying, “smile.”
9. (2:30) Bikini — In-your-face riot grrl surf-punk with dance-y synth tracks. “All you got to do is put on this little bikini and dance!” Don’t miss the smart, well-done video. ***
10. (3:30) Talk — Throwback rock-feeling at start with staccato organ notes again. Shifts into upbeat, flowing synth-rock.
11. (3:19) Animal — Menacing futuristic, fatalistic reaction to a relationship that’s ending. March-like synth-rock reminiscent of peak-era Timberlake, filled with tension.

Track Listing
1. More Of The Same   6. To Die Today
2. Cry!   7. Soul No. 5
3. Money   8. Smile! (Bikini Intro)
4. Jeannie Becomes A Mom   9. Bikini
5. Getting To Me   10. Talk
  11. Animal