Friedberger, Eleanor / Rebound
Album: Rebound   Collection:General
Artist:Friedberger, Eleanor   Added:May 2018
Label:Frenchkiss Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-06-26 Pull Date: 2018-08-28
Week Ending: Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12 Aug 5 Jul 29 Jul 22 Jul 15
Airplays: 2 2 2 2 3 2 6 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 02, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Make Me A Song
4. Aug 31, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
Make Me A Song
2. Jan 03, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Make Me A Song
5. Aug 30, 2018: Ad Hoc Variety Show
Are We Good?
3. Sep 07, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
Make Me A Song
6. Aug 30, 2018: regular school / summer skool
Make Me A Song

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2018-06-11
“Rebound” Eleanor Friedberger
Synth-pop-rock interlaced with Friedberger’s accomplished guitar work. Her 4th solo album and first since 2016’s New View. The ten-song set was inspired by a trip to Greece, which included a visit there to a club called Rebound, which plays 80s goth disco. Friedberger’s lyrics are thoughtful, personally revealing and often tinged with sadness. Her music veers toward warm, quirky and sometimes off-kilter electro-pop with programmed drums and synths — attractively showcasing her compelling storytelling. Based on the reviews I saw, this is considered Friedberger’s best effort since she and her brother dissolved The Fiery Furnaces. I agree.
— Francis

Recommended: 5, 3, 4, 1, 8. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:46) My Jesus Phase — Pulsing rhythm with simple beat. Ominous, swirling synths. Shifts into something more sultry and guitar-driven partway through. *** Segues directly into Track 2 — will be tough to segue.
2. (3:49) The Letter — Mid-tempo. Mix of mesmerizingly smooth synths with edgy guitar blasts at several points. Sing-songy vocals.
3. (3:51) Everything — Galloping beat. High energy. Smooth flowing synth chords underscored by a busy bass line. About trying to have everything. ***
4. (3:30) In Between Stars — Laid-back, swaying hooky melody. Strong backbeat. One of the singles — but can get a bit repetitive. ***
5. (5:32) Make Me A Song — Syncopated, snappy synth-pop. Bouncy and fun. Synth, bass, piano, and guitar. Great lyrics. Excellent tune! ****
6. (4:51) Nice To Be Nowhere — Slow tempo with sustained synth chords and deliberate beat. Melancholy ballad. Lead guitar solo near trail-out.
7. (3:36) It’s Hard — Off-kilter synth beat with guitar noodling and thumping bass line. Easy-going, swingy melody.
8. (3:53) Are We Good? — Synth arpeggios, accented with guitar stingers. Captivating, revealing lyrics, spoken more than sung at times. Handclaps. ***
9. (2:56) Showy Early Spring — Synth-pop that veers toward chamber pop. Big chords. Thumping beat. Simple melody.
10. (4:27) Rule of Action — Skipping beat in 3/4 time. Lush synths mixed with chimey high tones. Vocals doubled in low and high registers.

Track Listing
1. My Jesus Phase   6. Nice To Be Nowhere
2. The Letter   7. It's Hard
3. Everything   8. Are We Good?
4. In Between Stars   9. Showy Early Spring
5. Make Me A Song   10. Rule Of Action