Landreth, Sonny / Recorded Live In Lafayette
Album: Recorded Live In Lafayette   Collection:Blues
Artist:Landreth, Sonny   Added:May 2018
Label:Mascot Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-05-14 Pull Date: 2018-07-16 Charts: Blues
Week Ending: Jul 15 Jul 8 Jul 1 Jun 17 Jun 10 May 20
Airplays: 4 2 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 04, 2021: ad hoc variety show (rebroadcast from Jul 17, 2018)
Creole Angel
4. Jul 17, 2018: ad hoc variety show
Creole Angel
2. Jul 24, 2021: At the Cafe Bohemian (rebroadcast from Jun 14, 2018)
Brave New Girl
5. Jul 14, 2018: Road Trip
Creole Angel
3. Jun 29, 2021: Old Fart at Play (rebroadcast from Jun 15, 2018)
Creole Angel
6. Jul 14, 2018: blues with a feelin'
The Milky Way Home, Blues Attack

Album Review
Reviewed 2018-05-08
A great showcase for the guitar master. Disc one is an acoustic set, disc two is electric. As the title says, it’s live so there is applause and cheering from the enthusiastic crowd. He’s backed by a great band that seems to be having as much fun as the audience. Mostly original tunes so good, every track. Songs range from straight-up blues to tracks infused with folk, bluegrass, zydeco, and country.

Disc 1:
1. Upbeat w/hints of zydeco, a great, fun opening to the disc.
2. Starts a little relaxed, picks up a drive. Mid/upbeat.
3. Relaxed head nodder w/a nicely swampy tinge.
4. Upbeat rocker w/some great solos. Oh yeah.
5. Slow & evocative love hurts song. Yum…
6. Mostly midtempo w/some great vocal harmonies & playing.
7. Midtempo w/a sweeping blues rock sound.
8. Mostly midtempo zydeco rock. Playful.

Disc 2:
This disc features a lot of rock-infused instrumental tracks. Great playing, but I miss the vocals.
1. Mid/upbeat zydeco-influenced rock.
2. Slow instrumental to some stripped down moaning vocals.
3. Driving rock instrumental, great playing w/serious solos. Yow.
4. Down/midtempo instr. The only track that I don’t like.
5. Fast, fast guitar-driven jam.
6. So good, relaxed zydeco-infused tribute to Sonny’s late mom.
7. Complete head-nodding walking blues.
8. Wicked fast zydeco. Oh hell yeah!

Track Listing
1. Blues Attack   9. Back To Bayou Teche
2. Hell At Home   10. True Blue
3. Key To The Highway   11. The Milky Way Home
4. Creole Angel   12. Brave New Girl
5. A World Away   13. Uberesso
6. The High Side   14. Soul Salvation
7. Bound By The Blues   15. Walkin' Blues
8. The U.S.S. Zydecoldsmobile   16. The One And Only Truth