Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Tanzania Albinism Collective / White African Power
Album:White African Power Collection:World
Artist:Tanzania Albinism Collective Added:Mar 2018
Label:Six Degrees Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2018-04-01 Pull Date:2018-06-03 Charts:Reggae/World
Week Ending:May 27May 13May 6Apr 29Apr 22Apr 15Apr 8

 Recent Airplay
1.Mar 03, 2022:Pumping Iron (rebroadcast from Apr 2, 2018)
4.May 10, 2018:Melange
I Am A Human Being, They Gossiped When I Was Born, Tanzania Is Our Country, Too
2.Jan 28, 2022:Pumping Iron (rebroadcast from Apr 2, 2018)
5.May 03, 2018:At the Cafe Bohemian
I Will Build A Home, Someday
3.May 24, 2018:At the Cafe Bohemian
Disability Is Not A Curse
6.Apr 28, 2018:Old Fart at Play
Peace Has Vanished

Album Review
Reviewed 2018-03-27 
– General Description: Tom Waits might love this album. In Ukerewe, the largest inland island in Africa, producer Ian Brennan held songwriting workshops with members of the Standing Voice albinism community. (Albinos have a genetic condition resulting in little or no pigmentation in the skin, hair and eyes).

In East Africa, the belief that albino body parts have magical/demonic powers puts them live in constant fear of being killed and dismembered. Those with albinism routinely avoid eye contact, rarely speak above a whisper, are unaccustomed to dancing, and are often forbidden to sing (even in church). Brennan “encouraged them to write about their experiences and to express what they wanted others to understand about their existence. ”

Most lyrics are written in Kikirewe and Jeeta — dialects officially discouraged and censored following unification of Tanzania in 1964.

The track titles, in essence, say everything and are probably translations of the phrases sung.
Most tracks are just musical ideas or repeated spoken/sung phrases. Play a group of 4 or 6 together to get more of a feel for the music and voice of this group. The tracks are all short except the last one.

– FCC Compliant: YES
– Recommended Tracks: 1, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 21
– Track Reviews:

1. ***(1:01) Life Is Hard - simple song, pure female voice; quite lovely
2. (1:22) We Live In Danger - two repeated phrases with percussion no sound starting 1:15
3. (1:07) This World Has Gone Wrong - syncopated percussion and guitar(?) with vocal above
4. (1:40) I Will Build A Home, Someday - repeated phrase; medium tempo
5. (1:03) Sorrows - simple and pure vocal
6. (1:19) You Are Mine - simple and pure vocal
7. (1:41) Albino Brotherhood - male voice sings and mostly speaks
8. ***(1:07) Tanzania Is Our Country Too - full song, full group
9. (0:43) They Gossiped When I Was Born - repeated phrase (a bit distorted)
10. ***(1:00) I Am a Human Being - simple, female voices (counterpoint)
11. ***(1:26) Peace Has Vanished - female sings (while working?)
12. (0:24) Forward Motion...At Last!!! - repeated phrase (in a mine?)
13. ***(1:07) Disability is Not a Curse - counterpoint
14. (1:05) Mistreated - more melodic (last 5 sec are silent)
15. ***(0:55) Unity Is Our Strength - female voices, simple and strong
16. (1:33) Stigma Everywhere - male voices, mostly calling
17. (1:04) Love Has Left Me - simple, male voice
18. (1:59) Never Forget The Killings - descending motive vocal line, orchestral
19. (0:50) Albino Day - interesting percussion behind voice
20. (0:28) Stop The Murders - repeated line
21. ***(1:25) Who Should We Run To? - simple solo female voice, full melody
22. (1:01) Standing Voices (Once, I Was Abandoned) - group sing (Beck-like); (last 6 sec are silent)
23. (5:24) Happiness - WARNING: starts w/simple song, goes silent at 0:55, then at 3:00 a full song starts and ends at 4:25, then another blink of voice/guitar starts at 4:33 and ends at 5:19

Track Listing
1.Life Is Hard 12.Forward Motion...At Last!!!
2.White African Power (We Live In Danger) 13.Disability Is Not A Curse
3.This World Has Gone Wrong 14.Mistreated
4.I Will Build A Home, Someday 15.Unity Is Our Strength
5.Sorrows 16.Stigma Everywhere
6.You Are Mine 17.Love Has Left Me
7.Albino Brotherhood 18.Never Forget The Killings
8.Tanzania Is Our Country, Too 19.Albino Day
9.They Gossiped When I Was Born 20.Stop The Murders
10.I Am A Human Being 21.Who Should We Run To?
11.Peace Has Vanished 22.Standing Voices (Once, I Was Abandoned)