Oren, Peter / Anthropocene
Album: Anthropocene   Collection:General
Artist:Oren, Peter   Added:Mar 2018
Label:Western Vinyl  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-03-26 Pull Date: 2018-05-28
Week Ending: May 27 May 6 Apr 22 Apr 1
Airplays: 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2018: Traditions
Canary In A Mine
4. Apr 18, 2018: Oh Messy Motion
Burden Of Proof
2. May 23, 2018: Brownian Motion
Canary In A Mine
5. Mar 28, 2018: Brownian Motion
Canary In A Mine
3. May 03, 2018: Sound Landscapes
Falling Water

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2018-03-21
Acoustic guitar based singer songwriter with Indiana origins. Band joins in but this is all about the singing, guitar, which is deep toned. Play with afile co-add John Murray as they both have similar sentiments: Songs Ohai, Smog (Bill Callahan), Greg Brown, Mark Kozelek, Giant Sand/Howe Gelb. More info from his website: “Oren attracted the attention of Ken Coomer, the drummer for Wilco and a producer in Nashville. Together, the duo assembled a backing band featuring…keyboard player Michael Webb (John Fogerty), singer Maureen Murphy (Zac Brown Band), and guitarists Sam Wilson (Sons of Bill) and Laur Joamets (Sturgill Simpson). On Anthropocene they provide stately backing for Oren’s songs, with drips of pedal steel and quivers of strings subtly reinforcing his observations about the state of the world.”

1) (3:18) simple guitar picking, story of being on the road, nice simple fiddle joins 2)* (3:26) band appears with string arrangements “how will we escape this hell”, epic 3) (3:21) minor toned, simple arrangement, upright bass, dark with morose references 4)* (3:06) full band, likely the Sturgill Simpson/Wilco folks, some real black lyrics in here, nice 5) FCC “fuck the law”, bummer (4:04) big epic feel, “make your grandkids proud, time to throw down”, a call to arms for protesting, great stuff for safe harbor 6)** (3:42) lovely lovely guitar riff with dreamy pedal steel, holy shit is this good!!! 7) (3:21) a traditional almost bluegrass feel to this 8) (2:48) a nice story of love, slow full band, rich 9) (2:57) slow dark, lovely 10) FCCs, good song though about “the coming storm” and life being fucked up these days, some pretty fucking lighthearted stuff, way to end a record, said no one besides maybe my morose ass

Track Listing
1. Burden Of Proof   6. Canary In A Mine
2. Anthropocene   7. New Gardens
3. Falling Water   8. Picture From Spain
4. Chain Of Command   9. River And Stone
5. Throw Down   10. Welcome/Goodbye