Talk West / Skinned Shin
Album: Skinned Shin   Collection:General
Artist:Talk West   Added:Mar 2018
Label:Never Anything  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-03-19 Pull Date: 2018-05-21
Week Ending: May 20 Apr 29 Apr 1 Mar 25
Airplays: 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 19, 2018: Music Casserole
Stranger By The River
4. Mar 28, 2018: Brownian Motion
Stranger By The River
2. May 18, 2018: Traditions
Stranger By The River
5. Mar 24, 2018: Music Casserole
Stranger By The River
3. Apr 28, 2018: Radiant Airwaves
Her Last Day
6. Mar 22, 2018: A Night on the Roof
Stranger By The River

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-03-19
Lush ambient folk project of Tulsa’s Dylan Golden Aycock, who also runs Scissor Tail Records. Solo fingerpicked guitar, drone loops, peaceful field recordings, calming tape hiss. Serene and reverie-inducing, humble and cozy. Also look in KZSU’s library for his album Black Coral Sprig, which listening to is like dissolving into cool rain. Everything he does in this style is wonderful. RIYL William Tyler, Loren Connors, Elizabeth Cotten, Scott Tuma, Chuck Johnson. No words, no FCCs. Favorites: 2, 5, 7.

1. (3:14)—Softly buzzing, shimmering lo-fi guitar loops.
2. *(2:30)—Grainy, pretty guitar soli. Nice lively fingerpicking.
3. (6:40)—Raindrop-like tones poking through soft tape noise. Slow, lonely guitar bends.
4. (0:59)—Clear, deep, watery guitar.
5. *(2:18)—Grainy pedal steel, high fluttering synth.
6. (0:50)—Bouncy, light guitar fingerpicking loop.
7. *(9:23)—Peaceful, upbeat plucked guitar. Subtle evolution of secondary guitar parts.
8. (1:00)—Meandering melancholy guitar, reminiscent of Loren Connors’ Airs.

Track Listing
1. Shallow Fault   5. Skinned Shin (Onyx)
2. Gladys (Acoustic)   6. When Yasushi Followed Us Everywhere
3. Last Minute   7. Stranger By The River
4. That Dream Again   8. Her Last Day