Belle And Sebastian / How To Solve Our Human Problems
Album: How To Solve Our Human Problems   Collection:General
Artist:Belle And Sebastian   Added:Mar 2018
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-03-06 Pull Date: 2018-05-08
Week Ending: May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25
Airplays: 1 2 4 5 3 4 3 6

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 01, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Best Friend
4. Oct 22, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
I'll Be Your Pilot
2. Mar 24, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
The Girl Doesn't Get It (Radio Edit)
5. Aug 09, 2021: The Library (rebroadcast from May 9, 2018)
A Plague On Other Boys
3. Apr 27, 2022: new year, new me (rebroadcast from Mar 26, 2018)
A Plague On Other Boys
6. Jul 27, 2021: new year, new me (rebroadcast from Apr 2, 2018)
Poor Boy

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2018-03-05
“How to Solve our Human Problems” Belle and Sebastian
Glasgow-based indie pop-rockers, Belle and Sebastian, are back with an eclectic collection of tunes ranging from disco-inspired dance-y synth-pop to baroque-pop and everything in between. The tracks were released over a period of three months (Dec. 2017 – Feb. 2018) in three separate five-song EPs. Those songs have now been brought together in a massive 70-minute collection of “witty, tuneful indie pop” as Rolling Stone describes it. Not every tune works; a few critics have even suggested that the release could have been pared down to a more disciplined 10- to 12-track album. But with so much variety, you’re sure to find something that you like here.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 8, 14, 10, 1, 15, 4 (FCC), 7, 12. FCC on track 4 "f-cked up".

1. (6:29) Sweet Dew Lee — (False start – might want to start at 7 sec.) Breezy, dance-y synth-pop. Jangly guitar. Synth squiggles and strings. Lounge-y. ***
2. (5:37) We Were Beautiful — Urgent, slightly edgy synth-pop. Skittering trip-hop beat. Some pedal steel guitar. Brass in the anthemic choruses. ****
3. (4:03) Fickle Season — Slower, light and lilting folk-pop with lead vocals by Sarah Martin. Bell-like synths and flute. Timekeeping drum track.
4. (4:49) The Girl Doesn’t Get It — Synth-pop in the style of Brian Eno or recent New Pornographers. Political lyrics contrast with the light upbeat arrangement. FCC: "f-cked up"
5. (5:28) Everything Is Now — Did B&S and Arcade Fire get together on this? Deliberate-paced psyche-rock with 1960s organ, handclaps and Beatles-like harmonies. Lyrics shift from “everything is different” to “everything’s indifferent.”
6. (3:53) Show Me the Sun — Rubbery bass line and tribal tom-toms under a 1960s era go-go tune, which slows halfway through — then resumes its gallop.
7. (3:35) The Same Star — Swaying Fleetwood Mac-sounding song with Sarah Martin again on the lead. Straight-ahead, sunshiny indie rock. ***
8. (4:16) I’ll Be your Pilot — Oboe! Heartfelt sentimental folk ballad dedicated to Murdoch’s young son. Reassuring harmonies and backing vocals. ****
9. (4:26) Cornflakes — Like an extended disco remix. Don’t let the gleams from the mirror ball blind you. Gets clashy and discordant.
10. (5:03) A Plague on All Other Boys— An ode to Belle and Sebastian in their early years. Stately baroque folk-pop. Literate lyrics examine first love. ****
11. (4:28) Poor Boy — Clubby dance tune. Features a funky beat, groovy guitars, synth, and Sarah and Stuart in a duet on lead vocals.
12. (5:39) Everything Is Now (Part Two) — Fuller, more complete and intriguing version of track 5. Swaying, swirling strings support Murdoch’s warm vocals — with Martin singing counterpoint in a love song debate. ***
13. (4:27) Too Many Tears — Easy listening ballad. Light rock with playful guitar licks.
14. (3:24) There Is an Everlasting Song — Strummy, uplifting folk-rock. Optimistic lyrics nevertheless reference the sometimes harsh realities we all may face. ****
15. (3:41) Best Friend — Soulful 1960s-style retro tune. Guest lead vocalist is Glasgow’s Carla J. Easton. Melodic and bright. Nice closer. ***

Track Listing
1. Sweet Dew Lee   8. I'll Be Your Pilot
2. We Were Beautiful   9. Cornflakes
3. Fickle Season   10. A Plague On Other Boys
4. The Girl Doesn't Get It   11. Poor Boy
5. Everything Is Now   12. Everything Is Now (Part Two)
6. Show Me The Sun   13. Too Many Tears
7. The Same Star   14. There Is An Everlasting Love
  15. Best Friend