Ought / Room Inside The World
Album: Room Inside The World   Collection:General
Artist:Ought   Added:Feb 2018
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-02-23 Pull Date: 2018-04-27
Week Ending: Apr 29 Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 11 Mar 4
Airplays: 1 2 3 3 1 1 5 5

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 28, 2018: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Disgraced In America
4. Apr 18, 2018: The Library
Disgraced In America
2. Apr 23, 2018: Predominantly A
Disgraced In America
5. Apr 14, 2018: Radiant Airwaves
Disgraced In America
3. Apr 21, 2018: Music Casserole
Desire, Disgraced In America
6. Apr 12, 2018: Old Fart at Play
Disgraced In America

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2018-02-23
Room Inside the World is the third release by the Canadian band Ought. The politics, the love lamentations, the 21st century post-punk revival beats and riffs are all here again, only this time with a more contemplative attitude driven by the voice of singer/guitarist Tim Darcy, who attempts to channel Jonathan Meiburg’s (Shearwater) vocal range with inspired results. By this third release, the band reminds me more and more of The Boomtown Rats, especially the emotional display and the melodic structures.

RIYL: The Boomtown Rats, Iceage, Preoccupations, Interpol and Shearwater.

Recommended Tracks: 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9

1. (3:40) Into the Sea – Think of a more updated U2’s War period energy here. Medium-up tempo.
2. (4:22) ***Disgraced in America – The highpoint political track on the album. Medium-up tempo. Catchy melody. Notable.
3. (4:35) ***Disaffectation – Another strong medium-up tempo composition. Big fan of the vocals here. Post punk rhythms forever.
4. (3:46) **These 3 Things – Solid instrumentation highlights this heavy loaded melodic track with opening ambient textures and fine guitar work throughout.
5. (5:19) ***Desire – Slow synth intro. Vocal-driven track. Builds ups slowly. Dramatic and intense. My second favorite track on the album.
6. (4:33) Brief Shield – Slow tempo ballad. Theatrical.
7. (5:10) **Take Everything – Medium/medium-up tempo. Another tracks that builds up intensity very slowly. The music becomes really upbeat and loud but the vocals stay quite calm and almost hidden in the mix. Intrigued how this will sound live.
8. (4:39) Pieces Wasted – Medium tempo piece. Political psych rock ballad. Trippy ending.
9. (4:00) **Alice – Another slow track with very interesting instrumentation. Existential. Introspective. Impressed.

Track Listing
1. Into The Sea   5. Desire
2. Disgraced In America   6. Brief Shield
3. Disaffectation   7. Take Everything
4. These 3 Things   8. Pieces Wasted
  9. Alice