Typhoon / Offerings
Album: Offerings   Collection:General
Artist:Typhoon   Added:Jan 2018
Label:Roll Call Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-01-15 Pull Date: 2018-03-19
Week Ending: Mar 18 Mar 11 Mar 4 Feb 25 Feb 18 Feb 11 Feb 4 Jan 28
Airplays: 2 1 2 4 4 3 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 28, 2018: The Library
4. Mar 07, 2018: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
2. Mar 17, 2018: Music Casserole
5. Feb 28, 2018: The Library
3. Mar 14, 2018: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
6. Feb 28, 2018: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-01-08
Did the last Arcade Fire album sweep you off your feet, enraging and inspiring you with its damning portrait of modern life? Nah, me neither. Let’s be honest: it was real bad. But there’s a silver lining. Portland octet Typhoon have made the album that Everything Now should have been in a better world. This is a crisp and adventurous rock ’n’ roll record—grand, intense, bleak, dire, trippy. It’s overwhelmingly sincere, but unlike so much awful so-called sincere music it actually defines what it’s trying to defend: the preservation of historical memory, an attitude of nonviolence, an belief in causality and consequence. And most importantly, the music is mesmerizing. The last time a rock record bowled me over like this was The War on Drugs’ Lost in the Dream. Fans of big, emotive guitar music, here is your new favorite album. FCC WARNING: 1, 7 (maybe, your call). Favorites: 2, 3, 5, 9, 10.

1. (3:49)—FCC WARNING (s***). Slow, dark, bombastic atmospheric intro. Big rock ’n’ roll build with group shouting.
2. *(4:17)—Mid-tempo. The single. Chunky hand-clapping rock ’n’ roll with lots of odd little flourishes (snippets of dialogue, glitchy vocals, silky violin).
3. *(8:35)—Multi-part epic. Starts as a heavy dirge. Sad ambient-folk middle. Swirling, swelling mid-tempo duet. Wonderful.
4. (4:19)—Gentle, spare acoustic guitar in a wind-tunnel. Half-there piano and vocals.
5. *(6:18)—Grand, dreamy slowcore start. Soft horns and strings. Sudden jump in speed to an Explosions-in-the-Sky-esque build. Dissonant, smeary rave-up dissolves into ambient murk.
6. (3:22)—Slow, psychedelic, drumless. Deep, grainy synths. Swelling finish.
7. (4:30)—Borderline FCC (ass-naked). Mid-tempo strumming swerves into chugging, soaring rock. Do I hear cowbell?
8. (0:55)—Slow fingerpicking. Heavily manipulated vocals.
9. *(3:52)—Slow, spacious, somewhat jazzy. Bandmember Shannon Steele takes vocal duties; her singing is washed out and shoegaze-like. Muted post-rock guitars.
10. *(3:10)—Spare guitar, mournful strings. The pain gives way to an essential lightness, a kind of defeat. Simple and beautiful.
11. (3:54)—Slow soul beat and pointillistic guitars. Sludgy middle. Cool drum doubling.
12. (2:50)—Wavering, ominous synths. Chaotic and immense. Soft piano finish.
13. (5:54)—Medium-slow rock ’n’ roll lurch, reminiscent of Magnolia Electric Co or The War on Drugs. Gnarled post-punk build. Loud. Spoken word finish.
14. (12:49)—Begins as simple mid-tempo folk. Turns glimmering and triumphant before lapsing into hallucinatory sound at the five minute mark, approaching noise. Footsteps, voices. Sudden appearance of gang vocals, shifts into a bright-eyed post-rock plod.

Track Listing
1. Wake   8. Mansion
2. Rorschach   9. Coverings
3. Empiricist   10. Chiaroscuro
4. Algernon   11. Darker
5. Unusual   12. Bergeron
6. Beachtowel   13. Ariadne
7. Remember   14. Sleep