Von Schleicher, Katie / Shitty Hits
Album: Shitty Hits   Collection:General
Artist:Von Schleicher, Katie   Added:Nov 2017
Label:Ba Da Bing  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-12-03 Pull Date: 2018-02-04
Week Ending: Feb 4 Jan 21 Jan 14 Jan 7 Dec 31 Dec 24 Dec 17 Dec 10
Airplays: 4 1 1 2 1 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 15, 2021: Waste FM (rebroadcast from Dec 19, 2017)
Life's A Lie
4. Feb 01, 2018: Totally A
Life's A Lie
2. Feb 07, 2018: The Library
Life's A Lie
5. Feb 01, 2018: A Night on the Roof
3. Feb 06, 2018: Waste FM
6. Feb 01, 2018: FMF

Album Review
amy cummings
Reviewed 2017-11-27
Katie Von Schleicher / Shitty Hits
reviewed by amy cummings

This is Katie’s third release. Slow tempos and a fuzzy rock sound overlaid with strong, emotionally charged vocals. Definitely got some cool catchy tracks. I’m not sure if I fully endorse her label’s comparison to Mitski, but it’s understandable in the vocal department.

RIYL: 70s pop, Mitski, the Dear Hunter, Jay Som

FCCs: None
Recommend: 6,4,7,3,2

1. The Image (03:28): Starts sounding a lil’ crunchy but with a great vocal line, a good start to the album!

2. *Midsummer (02:34): Introspective, moody song with a catchy, simple chorus

3. **Paranoia (03:37): It’s about paranoia yet it’s surprisingly cheery and mellow! A solidly representative track off this album.

4. **Soon (02:42): A slow, mournful tune that’s one of the prettier ones among the album.

5. Nothing (04:18): Hazy and dark song about feeling nothing.

6. **Mary (03:37): This is a big standout track to me, it’s slower than the others and a bit more emotional. The guitar in the background is much simpler. Basically, if you cried to the Nick & Norah soundtrack back in the day, or still feel emo over Elliott Smith, this track is for you.

7. **Life’s A Lie (02:44): The pace of the album picks back up with this track which, again, is weirdly cheerful considering the song title and her explorations of loneliness.

8. Isolator (02:29): A nice, dynamic tune about...okay, I don’t know what it’s about. I think about getting upset? Musically this is a cool one.

9. Hold (02:02): Song about being a little crazy, this sounds like a haunted music box song. Still nice to listen to and only a bit unsettling!

10. Going Down (03:30): Dark! A stressful listen! Sounds like she’s gonna get some revenge on someone! Slow and consistent tempo throughout.

11. Sell It Back (04:16): Ooh, this one is pretty nice. Lighter and prettier than the others but still has a very dark undertone.

Track Listing
1. The Image   6. Mary
2. Midsummer   7. Life's A Lie
3. Paranoia   8. Isolator
4. Soon   9. Hold
5. Nothing   10. Going Down
  11. Sell It Back