Staples, Vince / Big Fish Theory
Album: Big Fish Theory   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Staples, Vince   Added:Sep 2017
Label:Def Jam Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-10-03 Pull Date: 2017-12-05 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 12 Nov 5 Oct 29 Oct 22 Oct 8
Airplays: 1 1 3 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 18, 2024: Sorry to bother you
4. Mar 10, 2018: Markov Chain Gang
Party People
2. Apr 30, 2022: Lunar Echoes
Yeah Right
5. Nov 30, 2017: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Rain Come Down
3. Apr 02, 2018: Stewed Down
6. Nov 08, 2017: The Nick & James Show
Big Fish

Album Review
Reviewed 2017-10-03
Vince Staples - Big Fish Theory reviewed by J-Simma:
RIYL: Earl Sweatshirt, RTJ, BROCKHAMPTON, Tyler, the Creator. Like his other projects, here Vince blends many different sounds, tapping into an Afrofuturism of sorts by using futuristic, electronic, and experimental elements to craft an aesthetic. The album feels a lot like the cover art--surrealist hip-hop paradoxically grounded in the L.A. street tradition, yet still not-quite-of-this-world.
Favorite Tracks: 5), 7), 9), 11), 12)

1) Crabs in a Bucket (3:18) - Spacey, atmospheric track, lots of synth and electronic influences, flows in and out of boom-bap drum beat, features Kilo Kish
2) Big Fish (3:18) - Still kinda electronic, but much more of a modern hip-hop club beat and structure, features Juicy J
3) Alyssa Interlude (2:38) - Sorta experimental with a brooding bassline ebbing and flowing with the vocals. At the end, bassline peels off, replaced by a vocal sample
4) Love Can Be.... (2:59) - Eclectic uptempo house beat, blends hip-hop and R&B in it with vocal emphasis
5) 745 (3:48) A favorite; futuristic, spaced-out hip-hop beat, funky bassline underneath gives it an L.A. feel
6) Ramona Park is Yankee Stadium (0:51) - Ambient interlude with city sounds and spacey vocals
7)Yeah Right (3:09) - Heavy thumpin 808s, light industrial samples, hardest track on the album; @1:24, transitions to spacey female vocals before Kendrick brings the 808s back in a his verse
8)Homage (2:53) - Experimental and drum heavy, bassline and vocals set a fast pace
9) SAMO (2:54) - Deep heavy 808s and background samples, 2nd hardest song on the album
10) Party People (2:59) - Mid/uptempo futuristic and electronic beat, flows between deep house feel and industrial hip-hop
11) Bag Bak (2:41) - Another favorite, defining track of the album, more polished spacey hip-hop beat
12) Rain Come Down (4:41) - Feels futuristic, Ty Dolla $ign throws in R&B vocals, driven by the bassline which turns emotional toward the end

Track Listing
1. Crabs In A Bucket   7. Yeah Right
2. Big Fish   8. Homage
3. Alyssa Interlude   9. Samo
4. Love Can Be....   10. Party People
5. 745   11. Bagbak
6. Ramona Park Is Yankee Stadium   12. Rain Come Down