Deadfellow / Mescalifornia: A California Dream
Album: Mescalifornia: A California Dream   Collection:General
Artist:Deadfellow   Added:Sep 2017

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-10-03 Pull Date: 2017-12-05
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 19 Nov 12 Nov 5 Oct 29 Oct 22 Oct 8
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 26, 2021: The Library (rebroadcast from Nov 22, 2017)
If Earthquakes Claimed La
4. Dec 06, 2017: The Library
If Earthquakes Claimed La
2. Dec 27, 2017: The Library
If Earthquakes Claimed La
5. Dec 02, 2017: Music Casserole
A California Dream
3. Dec 20, 2017: The Library
If Earthquakes Claimed La
6. Nov 30, 2017: moodswings
A California Dream

Album Review
DJ Stace
Reviewed 2017-09-27
Deadfellow: Mescalifornia: A California Dream
Label: Deadfellow
Reviewed by: DJ Stace

Reviewed: 9/26/2017

FCC Free!

Another Philly DIYer, this is Terrance Thompkins' follow up to 2016's "Love Songs for the Contemporary Listener." Great arrangements and songwriting with a fantastic baritone. Think Nick Cave sensibilities with Father John Misty delivery. I'm not sure Terrence doesn't have his tongue firmly planted in cheek for this entire record. Great record.

Favorites: 1,3,4,5,6 (Oh, screw it, play anything, because 2 & 7 are still good, just my least favorites)

RIYL: Beach Boys, The National, James Johnston, Gallon Drunk, (Happy) Nick Cave

1. A California Dream (2:54) - Beach Boys 'Smile' meets The National. Noisy, samply intro, then slow, loping drunken rhythm, strummy with great layers of horn and vocal accompaniment. Fades out slow with lots of laugh tracking and found sounds. No really, it fades out for like, 45 seconds.
2. I'll Be There In the Morning (2:30) - Doo Wop style toe-tapper. Works less well than the deconstructivist takes elsewhere on the record. Still a pretty pleasant song that some will love.
3. If Earthquakes Claimed LA (2:29)* - This one sounds like a long lost track from Nick Cave's "The Good Son." More of the affected late 50's teeny bopper doo wop sound, sort of Phil Spector without "The Wall of Sound" sound, with something dark and psychedelic beneath it.
4. Emily, Don't Change Your Mind (4:25) - Upbeat with jangly Alex Chilton guitars, Hammond Organ and I'm a sucker for a good Baritone delivery, so I like this alot.
5. Miss California (4:41) - Big lounge act love song, in the same deconstructed sense as some of Gallon Drunk's James Johnston's solo work. Beautiful orchestral accompaniment.
6. A California Dream (Reprise)* - Less noisy than it's opening predesessor. Picked guitar melody and low horns intro an ethereal guitar, piano, horn accompaniment. Very echoey and cavernous sound. Nice experiment with environment within a recording. More reminders of James Johnston's (Gallon Drunk) recent solo recordings. Slow and soft.
7. A Thousand Days (I Love You) (3:51) - Great slow, acoustic guitar strumming with slight piano accompaniment and chorus. Beautiful love song, devolves into a the last 60 seconds of palimpsest of found audio, more laughter and looped noise, like the first track. Quite pleasant, but abruptly becomes VERY quiet (windchimes?) at 3:27.

Track Listing
1. A California Dream   4. Emily, Don't Change Your Mind
2. I'll Be There In The Morning   5. Miss California
3. If Earthquakes Claimed La   6. A California Dream (Reprise)
  7. One Thousand Days (I Love You)