Allison, Ben / Layers Of The City
Album: Layers Of The City   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Allison, Ben   Added:Sep 2017
Label:Sonic Camera  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-10-03 Pull Date: 2017-12-05 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Dec 3 Oct 29 Oct 22 Oct 8
Airplays: 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 02, 2017: Music Casserole
The Detective's Wife
4. Oct 19, 2017: No Cover, No Minimum
Magic Number
2. Nov 30, 2017: No Cover, No Minimum
Layers Of The City
5. Oct 07, 2017: Old Fart at Play
The Detective's Wife
3. Oct 27, 2017: Magic Mix
Magic Number
6. Oct 06, 2017: KZSU News Hour
Magic Number

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2017-09-28
Reviewed: 2017-09-28
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none

Review: Versatile bassist leads stellar quintet in a set of postbop that pushes in challenging, rhythmic directions.
If You Like: Avishai Cohen, Terje Rypdal, Arild Andersen
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
*1/ Magic Number (6:47) - piano starts> slow tempo jam> trumpet solo> guitar solo> slow fade
2/ Enter The Dragon (8:12) - guitar/bass starts> uptempo jam> trumpet solo> wild uptempo piano solo> uptempo jam> trumpet solo> crescendo & space fade
3/ Ghost Ship (4:40) - bass starts> slow tempo jam> languid trumpet solo> slow jam. slow fade
*4/ Layers of The City (4:44) - bass starts> uptempo jam> keyboard solo> uptempo swinging jam> quick stop
*5/ The Detective's Wife (6:18) - keyboard starts> slow tempo jam, almost blues> jagged piano solo> trumpet solo> bass solo> slow jam> quick fade
6/ Blowback (5:14) - keyboard starts> midtempo jam lead by guitar/trumpet> tasty guitar solo> trumpet solo to end
*7/ Get Me Offa This Thing (5:16) - electronics start> midtempo space jam> trumpet solo> space jam> fade

Track Listing
1. Magic Number   4. Layers Of The City
2. Enter The Dragon   5. The Detective's Wife
3. Ghost Ship   6. Blowback
  7. Get Me Offa This Thing