Hoop, Jesca / Memories Are Now
Album: Memories Are Now   Collection:General
Artist:Hoop, Jesca   Added:Aug 2017
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-10-03 Pull Date: 2017-12-05
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 5 Oct 22 Oct 15 Oct 8
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 18, 2018: Hanging in the bone yard
4. Nov 03, 2017: Forest for the Trees
Memories Are Now
2. Nov 29, 2017: The Library
Songs Of Old
5. Oct 19, 2017: Lucid Lightning: Power Hour
Songs Of Old
3. Nov 04, 2017: Music Casserole
The Coming
6. Oct 15, 2017: FMF
Songs Of Old

Album Review
Kayla Constandse
Reviewed 2017-09-29
“Memories are Now” Jesca Hoop
Jesca Hoop grew up as the daughter of musical Mormons and she served a long stint as nanny to Tom Waits' kids. Her unusual backstory brought critical attention to her albums, and put her consistently on the verge of a breakthrough. She has released a slew of albums throughout the 00’s, and released this album, Memories Are Now, after signing with the label Sub Pop. This album is an eclectic mix of genres ranging from alt rock to country, and mixing moments of acoustic sounds and eclectic feel using synthetic tones.

Recommended: 1, 2, 6. No FCCs.
1) ** (4:23) Memories Are Now – medium tempo under airy vocals, gradually layers female vocals, beat stays consistent but changes to more synthesized
2) * (3:51) The Lost Sky – medium tempo guitar, low female vocal with indie sound, picks up towards the end
3) (3:45) Animal Kingdom Chaotic – slow to mid tempo, mellow synth guitar with country female vocals, transitions from slow dreamy melody to harmony of female vocals
4) (3:19) Simon Says – mid tempo opening with a country, twangy feel and nice harmonies, slow ending with dreamy sliding notes in the background
5) (5:51) Cut Connection – more alt rock feel with contrasting slow indie vocals, builds into an eerie chant with strong drum beats
6) * (4:43) Songs of Old – slow guitar start with clean female vocals, slow melodic chorus tells a nice story, shows off the vocalists range from low drawn out notes to high floating notes
7) (4:43) Unsaid – mid tempo quiet female soloist, drum beat comes in and propels the song over breaks of softer vocals
8) (3:34) Pegasi – mid tempo female solo with country feel, great lyrics and nice melody with some surprising synth moments
9) (5:56) The Coming – long intro with various instruments at random intervals, low female vocalist, song picks up in an emotional way with a nice decrescendo to the end

Track Listing
1. Memories Are Now   5. Cut Connection
2. The Lost Sky   6. Songs Of Old
3. Animal Kingdom Chaotic   7. Unsaid
4. Simon Says   8. Pegasi
  9. The Coming