Aye Nako / Silver Haze
Album: Silver Haze   Collection:General
Artist:Aye Nako   Added:Aug 2017
Label:Don Giovanni Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-08-31 Pull Date: 2017-11-02
Week Ending: Oct 29 Oct 22 Oct 15 Oct 1 Sep 24 Sep 17 Sep 10
Airplays: 1 3 1 2 4 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 28, 2018: The Fuzz Deli
4. Oct 19, 2017: butterscotch memory
Nothin Nice
2. Oct 28, 2017: Homeroom
Maybe Shes Bored With It
5. Oct 18, 2017: The Fuzz Deli
Particle Mace
3. Oct 21, 2017: Music Casserole
6. Oct 12, 2017: butterscotch memory
Sissy, Maybe Shes Bored With It

Album Review
Sam I Am
Reviewed 2017-08-31
Aye Nako // Silver Haze: The band describes their music as “sad punk songs about being queer, trans, and black” which sounds like an accurate (and great) description. Very punk-rock/garage rock sound to each song. They often break away from the power-chord formula associated with the genre and provide some pretty cool riffs and licks through all the hard-hitting noise. Great album!
FCC: 3, 6. Recommended: 4, 7, 11, 12. RIYL: Superchunk, Pity Sex, Pixies, Nirvana.

1. We’re Different Now (1:35) An intro song with the audio of a video (?) recording over some simple guitars. Probably not one to play on a show.
2. Sissy (1:52) Fuzzy emotionally charged punk-rock. “Tell me what I need to stay safe on the streets”.
3. Half Dome (3:55) FCC: “bullshit”. Bit of a surfey sound from the single note guitar in the verses, goes harder in the chorus with a head-banging rhythm.
4. Nightcrawler (3:22)** Love the runs from the guitar on this one! Dissonant guitars, overlaid vocals in the chorus, maybe a bit more pop-punk than the previous songs.
5. Muck (3:37) Off-beat vocals (purposely), vocal harmonies, lots of tempo changes. A punk song about the vocalist’s experience with anti-blackness, impactful.
6. The Gift Of Hell (3:57) FCC: “shit” (maybe? Cannot tell.) Pixies-esque sound, very grungey.
7. Particle Mace (3:28)** Catchiest song, pop melody but slamming guitars keep it punk.
8. Arrow Island (3:13) Driving crunchy guitars for most of the song, dropped bass lines.
9. Spare Me (2:50) Melody driving skippy guitars, noisey chorus. Tempo drops and becomes more melancholic in the breakdown before going back into a full howl.
10. Nothin’ Nice (2:30) Lots of warping pedal effects on the chorus, reminds me of Nirvana, guitars are almost menacing.
11. Tourmaline (4:34)* Slow and gliding opening, rocking guitar riffs mesh perfectly with vocals in chorus. Breakdown with just the bass adds a nice grunge touch.
12. Maybe She’s Bored With It (2:25)* Guitars almost sound like theyre spinning. The most mellow and possibly uplifting sounding song on the album with “oohs~” in the verses.

Sam I Am.

Track Listing
1. Were Different Now   7. Particle Mace
2. Sissy   8. Arrow Island
3. Half Dome   9. Spare Me
4. Nightcrawler   10. Nothin Nice
5. Muck   11. Tourmaline
6. The Gift Of Hell   12. Maybe Shes Bored With It