Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Tambo Rays, The / Recharge
Album:Recharge Collection:General
Artist:Tambo Rays, The Added:Aug 2017
Label:Oim Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-08-26 Pull Date:2017-10-28 
Week Ending:Oct 29Oct 22Oct 15Oct 8Oct 1Sep 24Sep 17Sep 10

 Recent Airplay
1.Jul 09, 2021:KZSU Time Traveler
Yes And No
4.Jan 12, 2018:KZSU Time Traveler (Top 39 of 2017)
Nothing To Lose
2.Mar 06, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
Nothing To Lose
5.Jan 07, 2018:Formerly A
Nothing To Lose
3.Feb 02, 2018:KZSU Time Traveler
Nothing To Lose
6.Oct 27, 2017:Quite Gnarly
Nothing To Lose

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2017-08-24 
“Recharge” The Tambo Rays
Oakland’s Tambo Rays return with an upbeat, danceable synth-pop-rock EP, their sophomore effort after a five-year hiatus. The five songs feature catchy melodies, snappy rhythms and lush arrangements — with lyrics that deal with life’s trials and tribulations (the father of brother and sister co-founders, Brian and Sara DaMert, died in 2015) — yet with surprisingly positive messages. Lots of energy in these tunes! RIYL: Blondie, Grimes, Bikini Kills.
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 3 or 4.

1. (3:23) Yes and No – Sunny synth-pop-rock with a fun, punky, girl-band kind of attitude. Crisp drumming. Late 70s, early 80s feeling. ****
2. (3:38) Always Down – Bright, bouncy high-energy romp with glistening synths and a propulsive rhythm.
3. (4:36) Wrong Turn – Mid-tempo, smooth and slinky. Full arrangement with wavy synth strings and solid drumming. An anthem feeling. ****
4. (3:02) Nothing to Lose – Another punky-pop-rock number that explodes with intricate interplay between sharp guitars and sparkling synths — plus nice backing vocals. Electronic synth-based rhythm harkens back to Michael Sembello-like dance-pop. ****
5. (3:52) Get It Right Now – Synth-pop-rock with more of a stop ‘n’ go rhythm and lots of dynamic changes. Lyrics say, “To find your love, it does take time/To fall in love, it does take time.”

Track Listing
1.Yes And No 3.Wrong Turn
2.Always Down 4.Nothing To Lose
 5.Get It Right Now