Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Broken Social Scene / Hug Of Thunder
Album:Hug Of Thunder Collection:General
Artist:Broken Social Scene Added:Jul 2017
Label:Arts & Crafts 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-08-10 Pull Date:2017-10-12 
Week Ending:Oct 15Oct 8Oct 1Sep 24Sep 17Sep 10Sep 3Aug 27

 Recent Airplay
1.Nov 10, 2021:Bass Pro Shop (rebroadcast from Dec 2, 2018)
Stay Happy
4.Sep 19, 2018:Goggles Optional
Halfway Home
2.Jan 30, 2019:Goggles Optional
Halfway Home
5.Sep 05, 2018:Goggles Optional
Stay Happy
3.Dec 02, 2018:Bass Pro Shop
Stay Happy
6.May 31, 2018:The Flannel Underground

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2017-08-09 
Canadian indie rock/experimental pop collective formed by Kevin Drew & Brendan Canning and associated with a staggering number of people, including Feist, Do Make Say Think, and Metric to name a few. First album in seven years and it’s hella good. Lots of lush atmospheric guitars, vocal harmonies, and instrumental excess done well. Highly recommended—I tried to list favorites, but honestly all tracks are great!

Related: Kevin Drew, Land of Talk, Destroyer, Stars
Favorites: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10
FCC: 12

1. (1:20) Sol Luna—Pretty gleaming strings ambient
2. (4:42) * Halfway Home—Fast frantic vocal harmonies, solos, epic drums.
3. (4:18) *** Protest Song—Fun emotive jam, sweet soloing.
4. (4:11) ** Skyline—More subdued, acoustic.
5. (4:11) ** Stay Happy—Heavier funk groove, great bass & trumpet action.
6. (3:59) ** Vanity Pail Kids—Outsized, intense, dancey. Really cool drums
7. (4:55) * Hug of Thunder—Dreamy atmospheric vocal harmonies move into something more pop.
8. (4:01) Towers and Masons—Angular mathy rock.
9. (4:55) *** Victim Lover—Dreamy subdued with chiming ascending refrains.
10. (4:54) * Please Take Me With You—A lot like their first record. Slow thoughtful distant melancholia
11. (5:11) Gonna Get Better—Jazzy track, mostly Feist’s vox, cool slowly evolving drums.
12. (5:44) Mouth Guards of the Apocalypse—FCC shit at 2:40. Moody experimental first half. Then… total arena rock!

Track Listing
1.Sol Luna 7.Hug Of Thunder
2.Halfway Home 8.Towers And Masons
3.Protest Song 9.Victim Lover
4.Skyline 10.Please Take Me With You
5.Stay Happy 11.Gonna Get Better
6.Vanity Pail Kids 12.Mouth Guards Of The Apocalypse