Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Drums, The / "Abysmal Thoughts"
Album:"Abysmal Thoughts" Collection:General
Artist:Drums, The Added:Jul 2017

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-07-26 Pull Date:2017-09-27 
Week Ending:Oct 1Sep 24Sep 17Sep 10Sep 3Aug 27Aug 20Aug 13

 Recent Airplay
1.May 22, 2022:Lunar Echoes
I'll Fight For Your Life
4.Dec 27, 2017:The Fuzz Deli
I'll Fight For Your Life
2.Jan 17, 2018:The Fuzz Deli
Blood Under My Belt
5.Sep 27, 2017:The Fuzz Deli
Blood Under My Belt
3.Jan 09, 2018:Magnetized Toner: Best of 2017 (Part 2)
Blood Under My Belt
6.Sep 26, 2017:Waste FM
Heart Basel

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2017-08-04 
Abysmal Thoughts is the fourth studio album by New York City guitar pop The Drums. Abysmal Thoughts has a fascination with 1980s dream pop and C86 period vocals. Emotional and vintage.

RIYL: Hoops, Crescendo, Beach Fossils, Young Tender and The Pains of Being Pure at Heart.

Recommended Tracks: 2, 3, 4, 7, 8 [FCC], 9, 10 [FCC]

1. (4:04) Mirror – Slow/medium tempo. Vocals, guitars and a changing beat. Dramatic. C86 forever.
2. (3:51) *I'll Fight For Your Life – Guitars a la 1982 Roxy Music’s Phil Manzanera period. Medium-up tempo. Synths as rhythmic base. Catchy.
3. (3:48) **Blood Under My Belt – Medium-up tempo. Fancy guitar pop with contagious melody and plenty of C86 infatuation for everyone.
4. (4:43) *Heart Basel – Another vintage guilty-ridden guitar pop track.
5. (3:36) Shoot The Sun Down – Vocal driven 1980s underground pop recording. Emotional and upbeat.
6. (4:38) Head Of The Horse – Slow synth crooner piece. 1980s pop dream.
7. (3:41) *Under The Ice – Medium-up tempo. Pleasant guitars and vocal melody.
8. (3:59) *Are U Fucked – FCC (Fucked). Slow tempo recording. Mellow, whispery vocals. Guitar and sax solo included.
9. (4:57) **Your Tenderness – Medium-up tempo. Sax and synth driven. Trippy vocals. Cool tune.
10. (3:07) *Rich Kids – FCC (Dickheads, Shits). Fast tempo track. Playful pop.
11. (3:50) If All We Share (Means Nothing) – Slow track. The ballad of the album.
12. (4:51) Abysmal Thoughts – Medium-up tempo. Friendly. Kind of 1980s R&B influenced. Emotional vocals galore.

Track Listing
1.Mirror 7.Under The Ice
2.I'll Fight For Your Life 8.Are U Fucked
3.Blood Under My Belt 9.Your Tenderness
4.Heart Basel 10.Rich Kids
5.Shoot The Sun Down 11.If All We Share (Means Nothing)
6.Head Of The Horse 12.Abysmal Thoughts