Hiro Kone / Love Is The Capital
Album: Love Is The Capital   Collection:General
Artist:Hiro Kone   Added:Jun 2017
Label:Geographic North  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-10-03 Pull Date: 2017-12-05 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Nov 26 Oct 15 Oct 8
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 24, 2017: Reckless Burning
Rukhsana / Infinite Regress
3. Oct 05, 2017: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Infinite Regress
2. Oct 09, 2017: Reckless Burning

Album Review
DJ Emo Martian
Reviewed 2017-09-27
"Austere, politicized techno battling for the greater good" according to Bandcamp, though you might get only a couple of these descriptors by just listening to the tracks. This is the debut full-length of upstate New Yorker Nicky Mao, who has been honing her brand of doomy electro since 2011. Much more modernist and empty-eyed than your favorite '80s EBM misfits but less extreme than the new wave of militant punk-synthers. Mixes are invariably imposing and mixed with crystal clarity. If you've got that itch, this will scratch it!

Choice cuts: 2, 6, 8

Genre: Industrial techno, electro, dark ambient
Friends: HTRK, Vatican Shadow, Blanck Mass, SHXCXCHCXSH, Female, Tujurikkuja, Tackle

1. (2:32) The requisite industrial introduction. Overdriven siren-y dirge, echoey metal scrape.
2. (3:57) Minimalistic synth arpeggios and patient swells supported by a powerful electro beat. Indecipherable choppy vocals. 4am fatigue vibes. Drew McDowall, formerly of Coil and Psychic TV, contributes on the keys.
3. (8:21) Constantly revving up with ritualistic kick patterns and spoken word mantras -- "do you still want this?" Non-humanoid motifs pop in and out as they see fit. No end in sight.
4. (3:14) Weirdo dialtone-esque synth loop and heart rate monitor bloops, quicker nervous beat. Could see this one on an avant-fashion runway or an edgy art gallery.
5. (6:21) Old-timey scientist speech sample, simple syncopated beat with an ├╝ber-deep long-envelope kick. Breaking into secret government laboratory vibes.
6. (5:05) Deeper into techno territory, now with kicks on every beat, a killer one-note bassline and subtle progressions further back in the mix. Definitely will not make you want to drink the water.
7. (1:47) Lustmordian swirling murk. Ends with traces of a choir and string drones.
8. (6:24) Digital vinyl crackle and ambient wash, but later back to incessant sub-bass pulse and echoey interjectors. Some percussive jump-scares in the middle - don't spill your coffee!

Track Listing
1. Being Earnest   5. Less Than Two Seconds
2. Rukhsana   6. Don't Drink The Water
3. Infinite Regress   7. Love Is The Capital
4. The Place Where Spirits Get Eaten   8. The Declared Enemy