Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
New Spell / Of Time - Part I
Album:Of Time - Part I Collection:General
Artist:New Spell Added:May 2017

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-05-18 Pull Date:2017-07-20 
Week Ending:Jul 23Jul 16Jul 9Jul 2Jun 25Jun 18Jun 11Jun 4

 Recent Airplay
1.Nov 25, 2022:KZSU Time Traveler
4.Sep 14, 2018:KZSU Time Traveler
2.Dec 31, 2021:KZSU Time Traveler
5.Jan 12, 2018:KZSU Time Traveler (Top 39 of 2017)
3.Jan 18, 2019:KZSU Time Traveler’s Token Brit Assistant
6.Dec 22, 2017:KZSU Time Traveler

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2017-05-15 
“Of Time (Part I)” New Spell
Powerful, spellbinding EP from local (San Francisco) indie pop-rock duo, New Spell. Features indie synth-pop by lead vocalist, keyboardist and songwriter, Leanne Kelly, and drummer, Jacob Frautschi. Layered synths with pulsing bass lines and complex rhythms often result in a dark feeling and edginess. Arrangements are intricate, with precision production. Of Time EP is the first half of an upcoming album. RIYL: The Naked and Famous, Grimes, Chvrches, or Lightning Dust.
— Francis

Recommended: All – start with 1, 2 or 3

1. (3:40) Rain – Propulsive track with skittering synths accompanying Kelly’s assertive, slightly ominous-sounding vocals. Awesome rhythm-driven bridge. ****
2. (4:11) The Space Between – Mesmerizing bouncing, pumping rhythm mixed with a fuzzy bass and piano. Lightly tripping vocals with distortion added at times and rich harmonies in the chorus. ***
3. (4:05) Never Change – Sustained synth chords with a deliberate tom-tom beat and airy vocals that soar into lush harmonies. Brass-like synth accents. Lead break near the end is reminiscent of Keith Emerson from Emerson Lake & Palmer. ***
4. (3:38) Familiar Tune – More delicate synth-pop. Playful keys. Fragile, warm crystalline vocals . Synth orchestration envelops the melody. ***

Track Listing
1.Rain 3.Never Change
2.The Space Between 4.Familiar Tune