New Pornographers, The / Whiteout Conditions
Album: Whiteout Conditions   Collection:General
Artist:New Pornographers, The   Added:Apr 2017
Label:Concord Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-05-04 Pull Date: 2017-07-06
Week Ending: Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25 Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4 May 28 May 21
Airplays: 1 3 3 3 3 2 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 26, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
High Ticket Attractions
4. Mar 22, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
High Ticket Attractions
2. Mar 13, 2020: The Token Brit
High Ticket Attractions
5. Jan 18, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler’s Token Brit Assistant
High Ticket Attractions
3. Jul 12, 2019: Clean Copper Radio for Time Traveler
High Ticket Attractions
6. Oct 19, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
High Ticket Attractions

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2017-04-23
“Whiteout Conditions” The New Pornographers
The New Pornographers debuted in 2000 as something of a Canadian super-group, bringing together three accomplished lead singers — AC Newman, Dan Bejar and Neko Case — every few years for a new album and a tour. “Whiteout Conditions” is the band’s seventh album, but this one is missing Bejar, who was busy with his band, Destroyer. The album features propulsive, synth-driven indie rock, with fabulous vocals and mesmerizing harmonies from singer-songwriter Newman, Case, and keyboardist, Kathryn Calder. Newman’s tightly packed lyrics are meaningful and thought provoking. While this one may not have quite as many “hits” as the band’s previous album, “Brill Bruisers,” it’s solid indie rock.
— Francis

Recommended: 3, 1, 2, 11, 10, 4, 8.

1. (4:37) Play Money – Multiple Layers of synths. Rapid-fire rhythm. Neko Case’s vocals rising and falling. Nice harmonies in the chorus. ***
2. (4:08) Whiteout Conditions – Newman takes the lead vocals, with strong harmonies from Case and Calder. Anthemic. Pulsing, soaring synths. ***
3. (3:51) High Ticket Attractions – First single. Complex synth structures are driven through a device called an arpeggiator, with a pulsing rhythm from synth bass, plus backbeat snare. Newman and Case/Calder on compelling call-and-response vocals. ****
4. (4:27) This Is the World of Theater – More of a straight-ahead rock song. Thumping synth bass rhythm. Female lead vocals; catchy chorus. **
5. (2:57) Darling Shade – Sparkling synths. Stinging guitar chords. Busy bass line. Snappy snare. Female lead vocals.
6. (3:15) Second Sleep – Pounding drums. Almost spoken male vocals. Case adds strangely piercing vocal tones.
7. (3:15) Colosseums – Fuzz guitar. Marimba-driven rhythm. Funkier male lead vocals.
8. (3:52) We’ve Been Here Before – Highly reverbed, church-like male/female harmonies soar. Shiny synths swirl around the vocals. **
9. (3:30) Juke – Glimmering, skittering synths over electronic drum track. Psychedelic male/female vocals.
10. (3:15) Clockwise – Driving tempo. Fuzzy guitars. Organ (or organ-like synth). Lead male vocals with chill female harmonies. Very catchy throwback melody. Great lyric. “In the valley of lead singers.” ***
11. (4:11) Avalanche Alley – Up-tempo closer. Rapid-fire drumming. Playful synths. Processed vocals from Newman. Female harmonies. Another tune with a throwback, 1970s feeling. ***

Track Listing
1. Play Money   6. Second Sleep
2. Whiteout Conditions   7. Colosseums
3. High Ticket Attractions   8. We've Been Here Before
4. This Is The World Of The Theater   9. Juke
5. Darling Shade   10. Clockwise
  11. Avalanche Alley