Furman, Ezra / Big Fugitive Life
Album: Big Fugitive Life   Collection:General
Artist:Furman, Ezra   Added:Apr 2017
Label:Bella Union  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-04-19 Pull Date: 2017-06-21
Week Ending: Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4 May 28 May 21 May 14 May 7 Apr 30
Airplays: 3 2 3 1 5 4 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 16, 2017: No Cover, No Fo
Teddy I'm Ready
4. Jun 16, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Halley's Comet
2. Jun 17, 2017: Totally A
Teddy I'm Ready
5. Jun 09, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Halley's Comet
3. Jun 17, 2017: Music Casserole
Halley's Comet, Splash Of Light
6. Jun 04, 2017: Totally A
Teddy I'm Ready

Album Review
Reviewed 2017-04-17
Genre: Indie Rock

FCC (!): Track 3 “I don’t really give a fuck” at 1:14

Overview: The band’s website says the album is a group of orphaned songs banded together to form a unit. The first three songs are up-beat rock and roll tunes with off-kilter lyrics and the vocal talk-singing style of Ezra. The last three songs feature acoustic guitar, showing a darker vision of the troubled mind. Like his recent album Perpetual Motion People, Ezra’s music is heavily influenced from his life experience as a gender-fluid Jewish individual.

Similar Bands: A hybrid of Modest Mouse, Freedy Johnson, and Wally Pleasant (with saxophone!).

Favorite Tracks: 2, 3 (FCC!), 5

Tracks: Favorites (*)
1. Teddy I’m Ready - Jangly guitar starts off; high, melancholy male vocals enter; drums come in as the song transitions to a 50s-60s rock vibe; sax completes the transition; intermittent backup vocals throughout; sax takes over near the end with strong drum beat.
2. * Haley’s Comet – talk-singing vocals and crunch-jangly guitar riffs start off; light touch of drums/cymbals; moves into urgent beat with crashing cymbals; the song winds back and forth; poppy breaks with driving drums and rhythmic guitar; bass and vocal interlude with female backup; ends on a high note.
3. ! ** Little Pieces of Trash (FCC – “I don’t really give a fuck” at 1:14) – boppy tune featuring sax and quick-paced talky vocals; high energy and fun; he’s letting everyone know that he is just fine being a little piece of trash; I FEEL JUST FINE!!!
4. Penetrate – a slow folksy tune with finger-picking guitar and half-whispered vocals; a religiously-tinged little ditty about losing innocence and virginity.
5. * Splash of Light – another slow tune with guitar and male vocals; a melancholy song about having to pretend to understand a confusing world with just a “splash of light through a fuzzy filter through blurry lens”; piano chimes in for a few simple chords.
6. The Refugee –folksy strumming guitar with talk-singing vocals; bass then violin come in; vocals are constant and a bit hypnotic; a somewhat dark and emotional vision of the Jewish experience from WWII to today; “this it the sound of the Jew who refuses to die”; cello added as the song builds; clarinet enters about halfway through to round out the ethnic vibe.

Track Listing
1. Teddy I'm Ready   4. Penetrate
2. Halley's Comet   5. Splash Of Light
3. Little Pieces Of Trash   6. The Refugee