Lickets, The / Offering To Magnetic Mountain
Album: Offering To Magnetic Mountain   Collection:General
Artist:Lickets, The   Added:Mar 2017
Label:International Corporation  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-04-12 Pull Date: 2017-06-14 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 28 May 21 May 7 Apr 23 Apr 16
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 27, 2017: Music Casserole
Faces Of The Forests
4. May 01, 2017: Everything A to Z - Week 85
Offering To An Ancestor
2. May 17, 2017: All Passion No Technique
Faces Of The Forests
5. Apr 22, 2017: Reckless Burning
Botanical Illusion
3. May 06, 2017: Music Casserole
Faces Of The Forests
6. Apr 18, 2017: Magnetized Toner (R1)/A-Philiac (Reprise)
Faces Of The Forests, Four Hundred Rabbits, Offering To An Ancestor

Album Review
Reviewed 2017-04-06
The Lickets
Offering To Magnetic Mountain
(International Corporation)
Reviewed by BravoMarco

From Texas & now based locally in the East Bay, good friends of KZSU / The Day of Noise – This is a superb collection of rich ambient experimental sounds. Soothing, yet with an invigorating edge. At times classical flavours take prominence & then the industrial gadget frenzy takes over. This really could be two releases in one. Truly has something for everyone’s tastes. 1,2,6,7,12,13 – for that slow to mid paced orchestral quality, the rest for the X.

Impressive release – Loving them all: Maybe 6 for the mellow & 4 for the frenetic.

Like: Einsturzende Neubauten meets Allen-a-Dale

No FCC’s (Instrumentals)

1) No One Knows What Became Of Them (2.54) Mid paced loveliness. A hypnotic wonder with a nod to the Far East.
2) The Monsters Descended From Above (3.55) Much more lively with a Spanish feel for me.
3) The Nineteen Days (2.46) Glitchy & repetitive. Full on X factor.
4) Offering to an Ancestor (7.40) Manipulated tense static noise-scape. Long industrial fade
5) Four Hundred Rabbits (4.22) Much of the 80’s Industrial scene can be heard with this. Front 242-esque. Drop to the effected choir taking over halfway for the remainder of the track.
6) Faces of the Forests (7.23) Luxurious medieval style. Float away to this…
7) Human Manufacturing Society (7.07) Reflective & restrained with a certain peaceful nature, slight mixture of all styles on display on this release.
8) Botanical Illusion (4.28) Moodier synths taking over. Spacey.
9) The Lost Wanderer (6.47) Low pulse with a high-energy kick way in the background. Louder towards the conclusion – Abrupt end – Play with Next Track.
10) And of my Eyes, the Blue Fire (5.47) As above, louder more abrasive sounds take over. A meatier build up that scales the industrial heights. Again carries into the next track, although not as necessary to play together.
11) Falconer’s Day Spa (7.09) Finishes with the previous & carries on with an ode, perhaps, to “The End” by the Doors.
12) Chorus of Shadow (3.22) Nice balance of the delicate choral & effected sounds.
13) O! The Mountains Green (7.27) The mini orchestra in its full glory…Glorious.

Track Listing
1. No One Knows What Became Of Them   7. Human Manufacturing Society
2. The Monsters Descended From Above   8. Botanical Illusion
3. The Nineteen Days   9. The Lost Wanderer
4. Offering To An Ancestor   10. And Of My Eyes, The Blue Fire
5. Four Hundred Rabbits   11. Falconer's Day Spa
6. Faces Of The Forests   12. Chorus Of Shadow
  13. O! The Mountains Green