Molina, Tony / Confront The Truth
Album: Confront The Truth   Collection:General
Artist:Molina, Tony   Added:Mar 2017
Label:Slumberland Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-04-05 Pull Date: 2017-06-07
Week Ending: May 21 May 7 Apr 23 Apr 16 Apr 9
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 18, 2017: satin fever
4. Apr 14, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Hung Up On The Dream
2. May 05, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Hung Up On The Dream
5. Apr 07, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Hung Up On The Dream
3. Apr 21, 2017: Totally A
Banshee, Over Now, See Me Fall, Hung Up On The Dream, No One Told He, Old Enough To Know, I Don't Want To Know, Lisa's Song

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2017-03-29
Millbrae fuzz-pop legend (formerly of Ovens, whose stickers seem ubiquitous in San Francisco) settles down for a set of soft, pleasant folk-pop tracks. Everything’s still extremely short, not because the music’s fast or punky but because Molina treats repeated choruses as a kind of vegistial trait in pop. He’s all about getting to the point and getting out, and where the results were almost comedic on his “album” Dissed and Dismissed, here the music is touching if still a little goofy. Elements of late ‘60s psychedelic folk, stripped down power pop. Favorites: 2, 3, 6. No FCCs.

1. (0:51)—Instrumental. Slow, pretty fingerpicking and keyboard.
2. *(0:53)—Slow, psychedelic ‘60s slow jam pop.
3. *(1:07)—Galloping fingerpicking, hushed vocal multitracking.
4. (2:29)—Slow, bummed-out strumming. Turns into a kind of faded soft-rock slow-jam. This is shockingly long.
5. (1:22)—Slow, pretty, reminds me of The Beatles’ later folk tunes. Keyboard flutes.
6. *(1:03)—Medium-slow. More power-pop in feel, though still unplugged. Nice.
7. (0:54)—Mid-tempo, melancholy guitar.
8. (1:27)—Instrumental. The only rock song. Fuzzed-out Thin Lizzy-type harmonic guitar soloing.

Track Listing
1. Lisa's Song   5. Hung Up On The Dream
2. I Don't Want To Know   6. See Me Fall
3. Old Enough To Know   7. Over Now
4. No One Told He   8. Banshee