Quivers / We'll Go Riding On The Hearses
Album: We'll Go Riding On The Hearses   Collection:General
Artist:Quivers   Added:Mar 2017
Label:Planetary Group  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-03-22 Pull Date: 2017-05-24
Week Ending: May 21 May 14 Apr 30 Apr 16 Apr 9 Apr 2 Mar 26
Airplays: 2 1 3 1 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 07, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Riding On The Hearses
4. Nov 01, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
2. Sep 17, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
5. Apr 05, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
3. Dec 04, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Riding On The Hearses
6. Oct 05, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2017-03-19
“We’ll Go Riding on the Hearses” Quivers
Jangly indie rock from Down Under. Elements of shoegaze, with somewhat lo-fi vocals at times. This band is originally from Tasmania (how many Tasmanian bands do you know?), but they’re now based in Melbourne, Australia. The music and lyrics often sound fragile and vulnerable, which is not surprising considering it was written after the death of lead singer-songwriter, Sam J. Nicholson’s brother, Tom, in a free-diving accident. The album was originally issued in 2016 as a handmade cassette – with the CD released in early 2017. RIYL: Real Estate, The War on Drugs, The Pooches, or Courtney Barnett.
— Francis

Recommended: 4, 5, 9, 3, 2. FCC on #8.

1. (1:15) Intro – Simple male vocals over the gentle swells of a harmonium. A prayer-like quality.
2. (3:31) Driving Rain – Bright, jangly pop-rock. Straight-ahead beat. **
3. (3:44) Pigeons – Bigger reverbed guitars with vocals down low in the mix. First single from the album. **
4. (4:48) Chinatown – Starts with strummed guitar and pensive vocals. After two minutes, moves to more up-tempo song with crisp drumming, nice guitar work and backing vocals. Very War on Drugs-sounding. ****
5. (4:11) Riding on the Hearses – Sprawling and jangly. Melodic with harmonized backing vocals and softly thundering drums. Organ in lead break and light brass added near the end. ***
6. (1:48) The Jackelope – Short ditty with bell-like fingerpicked guitar and a sustained harmonium chord.
7. (3:04) The Poltergeist – Slow tempo. Wistful. Male and female interplay on the vocals. Big reverb on guitar attacks.
8. (4:48) Not Yet Ghosts – Prominent drum line. Jangly guitar. Piano. Slow, halting vocals. FCC: piss
9. (3:25) Phosphorescence – Happier tune with a skipping rhythm using drums and muted percussive picked guitar. Big surf-y guitars and edgy guitars added toward the end. ***
10. (4:19) Burnt my Maps – Uplifting closer. Strummy guitars. Organ. Cello. Doubled vocals.

Track Listing
1. Intro   6. The Jackelope
2. Driving Rain   7. The Poltergeist
3. Pigeons   8. Not Yet Ghosts
4. Chinatown   9. Phosphorescence
5. Riding On The Hearses   10. Burnt My Maps