No Joy / Creep
Album: Creep   Collection:General
Artist:No Joy   Added:Mar 2017
Label:Grey Market  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-03-28 Pull Date: 2017-05-30
Week Ending: Jun 4 May 28 May 21 May 14 May 7 Apr 23 Apr 9 Apr 2
Airplays: 1 4 1 1 3 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 07, 2018: Bass Pro Shop
4. Jun 07, 2017: The Fuzz Deli
2. May 02, 2018: The Fuzz Deli
5. May 30, 2017: Magnetized Toner
3. Aug 17, 2017: moodswings
6. May 27, 2017: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles

Album Review
Reviewed 2017-03-27
Genre: shoegaze, noise pop, sludge metal, synthpop

Creep is the latest release from Montreal-based shoegaze outfit No Joy. For this outing, the band explores some new sonic territories (the EP was partly inspired by new age and industrial), and Jasamine White-Gluz’s airy, ethereal, & gliding vocals are higher in the mix than in previous releases. Huuuuge overdriven guitars dominate this EP. Potential FCC in chorus bg vox on track 2… I heard “don’t f*ck it up,” but it’s doused in reverb & almost unintelligible. The first two songs are among No Joy’s best––highly recommended!

Related: Tamaryn, Ringo Deathstarr, Pinkshinyultrablast

1. (3:25) Califone *** – (~9 second quiet intro) Upbeat shoegazey fuzzy guitar riffs supported by deep bass guitar. Drummer going wild on the toms for the verse. Catchy “ba ba ba” chorus. Noisy guitar solo to close out the song. Feels like driving around California in the summer. Sunny!
2. (3:19) Hellhole *** – Laid back midtempo drums / shakers with intertwining jangly guitars. Sliding “aaah” vocals. Brooding buzzy bassline later accompanied by arpeggiating bouncy synth. See above for potential FCC. Punchy!
3. (2:56) Tearing Apart the Dark ** – Sludgy, grungy, weird. Frenetic and discordant guitars over brutal drum blasts. Falsetto male vocals that later turn to yells. Abrupt switch to half-time dream sequence for the chorus, then back to chromatically descending chugs. Scary!
4. (3:09) Fluorescent Dread * – Squelchy synth arpeggios over brisk gated snares. Clouds of wordless vocals floating overhead. Drums occasionally drop out and are replaced by chaotic ambience. Gets progressively noisier towards the middle (and again towards the end). Industrial!

Track Listing
1. Califone   3. Tearing Apart The Dark
2. Hellhole   4. Fluorescent Dread